We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to expected standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Ranked #419 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We arrived early, quite tired, and were told that we couldn't check-in until 2.30pm. This was expected, so we left our luggage and went out. We later found out that we could have checked in early, at noon, for only £10 more. We would have happily paid that, but were never given the option.

When we finally entered the room, it had a unpleasant smell and a damp/humid feel to it. There was some black mould around the windowsill and the bathroom door frame so it seems there is a bad problem with a lack of ventilation (the window cannot be opened, and the vent in the bathroom did not seem to be effective.).

On top of that, there was only one bath towel provided. And other than a tiny bar of soap, there were no toiletries provided at all, not even shampoo. I don't know if this is Travelodge policy or just a problem here.

There is no free WiFi in the rooms. This was common 10 years ago, but most hotels now realise that travellers expect WiFi just as they expect hot water. Travelodge seem to be wishing it was still the old days.

Other issues - There were only two power sockets in the entire room, both in one corner. And the plumbing system makes very strange noises all night long.

On the morning we were due to depart, housekeeping called twice. The front desk should know exactly which rooms have checked out, so this just an annoying interruption which could easily have been avoided.

On the plus side, the location is very good, and the breakfast is acceptable if included in your booking price (don't pay full price for it).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,590 - 1,596 of 2,231 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

The travelodge is in a good central location about 2 minute walk from the tube station, rooms were basic but comfortable, we stayed in a double but were only given one bath towel and one hand towel so we had to request more, I also had to ask for a hair dryer from reception, the staff were helpful and friendly, would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneinamillion12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed here with friends for the weekend, and after much deliberation we settled on the Southwark Travelodge. The rooms were clean and well kept, as were the bathroom facilities. From what I could see, it seems popular with young families, though there were a few guys stood outside smoking with beer, though this is to be expected on a night!

On the Saturday morning the breakfast service was good, and as it is all self-service much couldn't have gone wrong.

Unfortunately on the Sunday morning it was a different story, with quite a few guests coming down late. One member of staff, I think her name was Joanna, was very good, especially considering she was a one woman team! Not only did she seat guests, she was in and out of the kitchen non-stop trying to replenish the food and bowls/plates, clearing tables and trying to answer questions at the same time. The other members of staff were seldom seen and didn't see to be doing much at all.

Overall though, an excellent stay, and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sourpuss33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Fab hotel. Friendly staff, clean room and a VERY comfy bed!! Perfect location for sightseeing - 15 min walk to London Eye/aquarium/etc. 3 night stay, will definitely be returning&definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
3  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Booked as we were going to the South Bank University open day.

The hotel is in a great central location 2min walk from the tube, the rooms were clean & spacious. We had a great nights sleep & the facilities were spot on. We managed to get a deal with breakfast included, the breakfast was fresh & catered for everyone's needs.


If you need somewhere central & quiet it is a perfect location. Great base for sight seeing

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Chexs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Exactly what it says on the tin. Fantastic central location. A few minutes from southwark tube station. Walking distance to waterloo!

Really helpful staff. Bar open late! Lovely bars around the hotel.

Have recommended to family who have booked for their next trip. Would definitely stay again.

Room comfortable and spotless. We overlooked TWO train lines...and we DIDN'T hear a thing!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMillers278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Great location for sight seeing around London, very close to Southwick Tube Station. The hotel has recently been refurbished and was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent value and the staff very friendly and helpful. Would certainly use this Travel Lodge again if staying in London.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#272 of 1,076 in London
3,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bridge Hotel
#636 of 1,076 in London
605 reviews
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#440 of 1,076 in London
2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Southwark

Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#262 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $67 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Southwark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge London Central Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge
Travelodge London Central Southwark England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing