We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Ranked #413 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Only stayed for 1 night but was a good choice. Great location, close to tube station. Very good value for central London. Quite basic rooms but everything we needed. Very clean and great staff, very helpful and welcoming. We paid a small fee to check in early.

Room Tip: Close to the trains - might need earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane_b1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,636 - 1,642 of 2,131 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel is located half a block from Southwark underground station, making it easy to get to places.
The 24 h cafe was a savior when all restaurants were closing.
The room was confortable and clean.
Great service for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Patricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Great location, great value for money, clean, no noise!
The hotel is located in a great place near borough Market, great place to have a meal. The price was very fair considering the location and the overall hotel. Very clean and modern and a place to stay in our next visit!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank JoaoCosta1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My stay was comfortable with trained and courteous staff. The room was big, and everything was neat and clean. The bed linen / pillows were all neat and clean. Bathroom was clean and everything well arranged. No problem at all. In fact this stay was better than my stay at other renowned hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Ashish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel's location is fantastic. A 5 min walk from Waterloo station and less than 1 min to a tube station. It is also within walking distance of all the central London tourist attractions.

Having stayed here previously I noticed the hotel had been revamped. The room was clean and of a good side and the bed was a delight to sleep in, the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in.

I also prebooked breakfast online where kids each free. So for me & my kid eat a hot breakfast buffet for just over £3 each which is excellent value. The food was of a good standard and we were able to eat enough to last the day trekking around London.

I will be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank BigFoot756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights (2 adults 1 child) Location is excellent.
Upon arrival we were advised we couldn't check in until 2.30pm, so we sat in the bar and had something to eat and drink. Basic but reasonably priced, and quick service. Staff were lovely and helped with what tubes to use and plenty of leaflets. Also lent us an umbrella and gave extra towels for room!
Rooms are usual travelodge rooms, not much storage but perfect for what we needed, a base to explore London. Our room overlooked the railway line but you hardly heard a thing, the only noise which we heard on our last night was the water pipes (have seen afew reviews about this) it is a loud screeching noise that went on and off for hours. Didn't disturb as we were already awake but could do with sorting.
We booked breakfast (free for kids) and it was fine, plenty of choice but small dining area so got busy.
Southwark tube station Is 2 min walk, Waterloo 10 mins. We walked to London eye, really easy to find your way around. Nandos at the end of the road and plenty of other pubs/restaurants nearby. Also handy shop next door selling drinks, snacks, sandwiches and open late. You can order room service also.
Would recommend and stay here again. Perfect cheaper option for exploring London.

Room Tip: Top floors seem quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vic8617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip that was booked last minute.
It was good value at less than half the price of the Premier Inn just up the road and I wasn't expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised at what it had to offer.
The rooms were recently updated and clean, warm and comfy.
The restaurant/bar was adequate but not great and the breakfast was acceptable.
Staff were efficient and friendly, especially Marcelo behind the bar.
In summary, considering I only needed somewhere to sleep and shower, it was ideal for what I paid.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank MrC3PO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#265 of 1,076 in London
3,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Southwark

Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#205 Family Hotel in London
#264 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $98 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Southwark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Central Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge
Travelodge London Central Southwark England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing