We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scruffy & could possibly do with a refit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Ranked #405 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Mandurah, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Scruffy & could possibly do with a refit”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Our extractor wasn't working in our bathroom & the reading lights fell out of their fixings. We feel this hotel could do with a bit of a refit/ update. It was clean & tidy and the staff were very helpful. The cafe staff were very patient when my husband set fire to a croissant in the toaster. Being just a moments walk from Southwark tube station made it excellent for position. Even in its current state, we would still recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bootnecksis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Michelle F, we’re really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and you found our staff to be helpful. We expect all of our facilities to be in good working order and we are sorry to learn of the broken items. The hotel will be made aware of the feedback that you have left which will help support any improvements that need to be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    788
    305
    119
    76
See reviews for
694
584
73
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here last weekend with my sister. The location is very good as it's very close to a tube station and close to the centre. When we arrived the staff at the reception were very nice and pleasant. The room was immaculate, shower very clean. Bed was lovely and cosy. No complaints at all. The only issue we had was there was a pile of dirty dishes left outside our door since we arrived at 2pm and did not get cleaned up till at least 11 the next morning. We also had to ask reception for clean towels the next day as cleaner did not leave us any. Other than that it was a lovely stay and I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savannah2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

My mother, sister and I booked a triple room here for a girly weekend. We arrived at the hotel and had called ahead to ensure we could leave our bags which we managed to do with no issues and the reception staff were usually quite friendly. On arrival to the room we had 2 single beds set up and the main double all of which were very clean and basic but functional. It wasn't until returning to our room on the second day did things go downhill, our beds were made so badly they were more wrinkly than when wet got out of them, they didn't replace our cups or replenish the teas and coffee. They also only gave us 1 towel on the second night and when we went to reception to ask for extra there was a lot of sighing and no apology. So in a nutshell is a very clean practical hotel but they need to review their house keeping standards.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank GSenkyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear GSenkyy, it is regrettable that your room had not been serviced to the high standards we would expect. We are sorry to learn the essentials were not replenished correctly during your stay and we will ensure that the Hotel Management team are made aware of the feedback that you have left so that staff can be reminded of the importance of proving a quality service to all guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I haven't stayed in a Travelodge for a while, but I have today I was pretty impressed with this one. The location was great, with many landmarks and attractions within comfortable walking distance - yet far enough away from the main thoroughfares to ensure a peaceful nights sleep!
Staff in the reception and bars areas were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean and beds comfy. Next door is a nice little cafe if you fancied eating out for breakfast and on the other side there is a handy convenience store.
My only tiny quibble was that I usually travel pretty light and don't normally take a hair dryer with me, so I was disappointed to find that there wasn't one in the room as standard, but I suppose all hotels in the chain must be the same.
I would definitely recommend this Travelodge and will certainly consider staying there again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nairney_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your review Nairney_83, we’re really pleased to learn of your positive feedback. Unfortunately we do not provide hair dryers in the rooms as part of our brand standard, although our customers may borrow hair dryers from reception, free of charge. They are available on a first come first serve basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with family, able to arrange rooms next door to each other at check in which was quick, efficient and staff were helpful throughout. Rooms clean functional and good value for the price, next to the train line and not disturbed at all by noise either inside or out. Would recommend to use for a base when visiting South London / next door to the jubilee line

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skybluemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, Dorset
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Good location as it was just a few minutes walk to the Tate Modern on South Bank and about 10 mins walk from Waterloo station. Rooms are basic but clean and newly refurbished. Our room, 708 on the top floor had a good view of the skyline and The Shard. Although railway was below, we weren't disturbed by train noise. Bed was very comfortable. Only downside was no opening window which felt a bit claustrophobic. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Plenty of eating places around. There was food festival on on the South Bank this weekend so great choice of street food and street entertainment. Enjoyed a visit to Borough Market and Maltby Street market - a great foodie weekend. Went on the London Eye late afternoon when it wasn't too busy - amazing views.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dohoPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The location of the hotel was perfect for us, pleasant staff and good service, good quiet location and easy access other parts of London via the tube. The staff Were very helpful, nice selection of food

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Ramakrishnan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#253 of 1,068 in London
3,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Southwark

Property: Travelodge London Central Southwark
Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#205 Family Hotel in London
#264 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Southwark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Central Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge
Travelodge London Central Southwark England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing