We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Would use again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge London Central Southwark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Ranked #344 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Would use again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I haven't stayed in a Travelodge for a while, but I have today I was pretty impressed with this one. The location was great, with many landmarks and attractions within comfortable walking distance - yet far enough away from the main thoroughfares to ensure a peaceful nights sleep!
Staff in the reception and bars areas were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean and beds comfy. Next door is a nice little cafe if you fancied eating out for breakfast and on the other side there is a handy convenience store.
My only tiny quibble was that I usually travel pretty light and don't normally take a hair dryer with me, so I was disappointed to find that there wasn't one in the room as standard, but I suppose all hotels in the chain must be the same.
I would definitely recommend this Travelodge and will certainly consider staying there again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nairney_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your review Nairney_83, we’re really pleased to learn of your positive feedback. Unfortunately we do not provide hair dryers in the rooms as part of our brand standard, although our customers may borrow hair dryers from reception, free of charge. They are available on a first come first serve basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    686
    252
    86
    56
See reviews for
600
483
56
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with family, able to arrange rooms next door to each other at check in which was quick, efficient and staff were helpful throughout. Rooms clean functional and good value for the price, next to the train line and not disturbed at all by noise either inside or out. Would recommend to use for a base when visiting South London / next door to the jubilee line

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skybluemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Good location as it was just a few minutes walk to the Tate Modern on South Bank and about 10 mins walk from Waterloo station. Rooms are basic but clean and newly refurbished. Our room, 708 on the top floor had a good view of the skyline and The Shard. Although railway was below, we weren't disturbed by train noise. Bed was very comfortable. Only downside was no opening window which felt a bit claustrophobic. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Plenty of eating places around. There was food festival on on the South Bank this weekend so great choice of street food and street entertainment. Enjoyed a visit to Borough Market and Maltby Street market - a great foodie weekend. Went on the London Eye late afternoon when it wasn't too busy - amazing views.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dohoPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The location of the hotel was perfect for us, pleasant staff and good service, good quiet location and easy access other parts of London via the tube. The staff Were very helpful, nice selection of food

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Ramakrishnan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have stayed in Travelodges before and know what to expect so wasnt surprised by the lack of toiletries and fairly basic rooms. However, this time I was stunned that they could charge me (well my company) £171 room only.
Location wise it's not too bad and is close to Southwark Tube and bars and restauarnts on the South Bank.
However the view from my room was a close up of people passing by on trains along the nearby viaduct.
The hotel claims it has been recently refurbished by tiles were cracked in the bathroom, bits of the shower had fallen off, the movement sensing lights in the corridor didnt seem to work so it was vert diffuclt trying to get back into the room at night, there was a smell of damp and the twels were like sandpaper.
The bar does a fairly standard selection of pies, burgers, chips etc and wasn't badly priced but again you get what you pay for with the food, although Claudio who was serving was very friendly, polite and professional.
And if it wasny expensive enough the soft drinks vending machine decided to eat my money and not give me a drink.
Was it worth £171? Absolutely not. Would I have been satisfied if I had paid the more usual price of around £50? Possibly but I have stayed in bettwer Travelodges.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank npr1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment npr1uk. We are still committed to offering competitive rates and advise customers to book as far in advance as possible to access the cheapest rates. We are sorry to learn about the issues with your room and will let our hotel staff know so they are able to make repairs and ensure all of our rooms are fresh and aired thoroughly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I booked into this hotel at the last minute and was pleasantly surprised. While basic, bring your own shower gel, shampoo, soap etc, the room was clean and very comfortable. Reception staff was fantastic, I asked for a quiet room and it really was quiet! Breakfast was good value. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathy535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

In the past at when we have brought the two children, me and my husband have always had to share the bed in a family room but this time was super impressed to see that there was two single beds made up with our double,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank YankeeDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#235 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#405 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,339 reviews
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Southwark

Property: Travelodge London Central Southwark
Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#205 Family Hotel in London
#264 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Southwark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge London Central Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge
Travelodge London Central Southwark England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing