We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great and deinitely not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Ranked #403 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Not great and deinitely not worth the money”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have stayed in Travelodges before and know what to expect so wasnt surprised by the lack of toiletries and fairly basic rooms. However, this time I was stunned that they could charge me (well my company) £171 room only.
Location wise it's not too bad and is close to Southwark Tube and bars and restauarnts on the South Bank.
However the view from my room was a close up of people passing by on trains along the nearby viaduct.
The hotel claims it has been recently refurbished by tiles were cracked in the bathroom, bits of the shower had fallen off, the movement sensing lights in the corridor didnt seem to work so it was vert diffuclt trying to get back into the room at night, there was a smell of damp and the twels were like sandpaper.
The bar does a fairly standard selection of pies, burgers, chips etc and wasn't badly priced but again you get what you pay for with the food, although Claudio who was serving was very friendly, polite and professional.
And if it wasny expensive enough the soft drinks vending machine decided to eat my money and not give me a drink.
Was it worth £171? Absolutely not. Would I have been satisfied if I had paid the more usual price of around £50? Possibly but I have stayed in bettwer Travelodges.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank npr1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment npr1uk. We are still committed to offering competitive rates and advise customers to book as far in advance as possible to access the cheapest rates. We are sorry to learn about the issues with your room and will let our hotel staff know so they are able to make repairs and ensure all of our rooms are fresh and aired thoroughly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    754
    290
    110
    71
See reviews for
669
545
70
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
141 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I booked into this hotel at the last minute and was pleasantly surprised. While basic, bring your own shower gel, shampoo, soap etc, the room was clean and very comfortable. Reception staff was fantastic, I asked for a quiet room and it really was quiet! Breakfast was good value. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathy535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

In the past at when we have brought the two children, me and my husband have always had to share the bed in a family room but this time was super impressed to see that there was two single beds made up with our double,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank YankeeDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My bedroom was unclean and I only realised how bad when I spent all night itching!
Food from the cafe was usual microwave or quick fry food
Breakfast was good
Trains were very loud past my bedroom window!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We’re really sorry about the poor experience you had in our hotel Catherine L. Our rooms should be clean and fresh and it is regrettable the standards fell below our expectations on this occasion. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was raving about this hotel just over a year ago, but now I'm not that positive.

What's with the water pipes?! They should really do something about it. They made a lot of noise, day and night.
Carpet in the hall way was worn down and there was a weird smell. Breakfast was ok. Good for the two nights we were there, but not longer.

No, for our next trip in December we've booked another hotel. This Travelodge is ok when you can get a very cheap room and are travelling on a budget. But for our family trip with 4y old daughter, we've booked something else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meilans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Meilan S, we’re really sorry to hear about the disruption you have been experiencing at our hotel during your stay. We would expect our housekeeping staff to notice any smells. If possible, we will air the area. The hotel will be made aware of the feedback that you have left so they are able to get the plumbing checked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed for three nights. The room was very clean and sorted out and tidied during the days of our stay. Excellent breakfast. Air con was difficult to set at a good temperature. The windows did not open because of the railway lines close by, which we could hardly hear. Once or twice the plumbing made a screeching sound, presumably when somebody in another room was using a shower, but generally this was not a problem. I would recommend this venue which is convenient for several theatres in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Presto2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We went to London for the weekend for my grandaughters 16th birthday and stopped at the Southwark Travel Lodge for the weekend . Let me tell you i have stopped in hotels 4 @ 5 star but have never had such marvelous service .I asked the manager if it was possible for us all to be seated on the sunday as it was my grandaughters birthday he said not a problem asked if we had a cake and balloons i said no as it was a surprize weekend .So sorry i should tell you the manager i spoke to was called Zviad he and the waitress Joanna between them bought a Birthday Cake ,Birthday Balloons and Birthday serviettes I can not thank you enough for making my grandaughters birthday so special .And thanks to Claudio the barman who looked after us so well If you are ever going to london Southwark Travel Lodge is Certainly the Place to Stay margaret from leeds

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetroter66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#240 of 1,088 in London
3,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#410 of 1,088 in London
2,489 reviews
London City Hotel
#217 of 1,088 in London
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Southwark

Property: Travelodge London Central Southwark
Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#205 Family Hotel in London
#264 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Southwark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge London Central Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge
Travelodge London Central Southwark England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing