We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel doesnt have to equal cheap service from staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Ranked #416 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Even though a budget hotel, the staff don't have to behave cheap. arrived tues 10th sept 1 hour 30 mins early before check in time, asked to pay £10 extra, (hotel policy) fair enough but clearly the room was ready. decided to wait until 2.30pm out of priniciple. approached the desk 2.28pm and was told 'its not time yet' and to wait. Appauling service, cheap and will be ensuring my organisation, which has huge custom do not use again, when your away from home on business, dont need this sort of poor service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank travellerJL b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you for your review travellerJL b. Our check in time is 3pm across all of our hotels. However we do offer an early check in service which allows our customers to check in from 12 noon. This service costs £10.00 and is subject to availability.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,667 - 1,673 of 2,132 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

For a budget hotel we were pleasantly surprised.
Excellent location - a two minute walk from Southwark tube station. A friendly welcome from the staff at check in.The room was spotless and well maintained. We had read reviews about the train noise but this is virtually non existant and we had the room next to the tracks! The bed was comfortable and we had an excellent nights sleep.
Breakfast was well worth the money. There was a wide choice and the cooked items were piping hot and constantly replaced.
The staff are very helpful and actually smile! They even have a facility to leave luggage at the hotel after check out to be collected later. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very expensive for little services. DO NOT ORDER BREAKFAST - It was literally inedible, and hands down the worst coffee I've ever had.. No toiletries, filthy room, broken shower head, mould in the bathroom. Awful. Even the staff knew it was a sub-par hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank 1SadCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear 1SadCustomer, we’re really sorry about the poor experience you had in our hotel. We do expect our rooms to be clean and fresh. Our staff are also trained to prepare and present food to a high standard in our bar cafes. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here (two people) and was really pleasantly surprised, especially as am really unfamiliar with London and was totally disillusioned by how expensive hotels in the city are an most seem really average. This hotel was really great. It is basic but we were here to explore so didn't need any 'extras' (there is a bar/cafe if you need that). Our room was big with a comfy big bed, a good sized bathroom. It was really clean. The staff were nice but really run off their feet the whole time as it is a busy hotel. We really enjoyed the location which is close to all the major sites an action but far enough away to be calm (we were there in the mayhem of August). Would recommend this for travelers looking for something reasonably priced, convenient. Would also recommend booking a room that faces the external walls of the building as the others face a light well.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzietraveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great location, pleasant staff, terrific value. Had a family room for the 4 of us. Very comfortable room and amenities. Only bad experience was loud guests in hall at 2am first night. All in all would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank MichaelA320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

From the moment I met the staff till I left 3 days later I can honestly say that I have stayed in many hotels all over the world but this crew look like they are happy to be working here and go that extra mile to enhance the customers expectations. .I would come back here next time i'm in this part of London by choice and not just by price. The only slight is that reception is on floor one. If you have a lot of bags you may need some help checking in unless they can source a trolley from somewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank everpoolLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Staff were friendly and willing to check me in at 2.30pm. There is free wifi at the dinning area but you have to pay for it if you want to use it in your room which I did. Paid wifi signal and speed was decent. The room I get faces the shard and the railway tracks but I did not get disturbed by any train noise as the windows are fully enclosed and cannot be opened. My room was spacious and much bigger than some tiny rooms which I had paid much more for. The toilet has abit of smell most possibly from the shower curtain as there is no extractor in the bathroom and those curtains cannot dry properly. The location is fantastic. Lots of cafes and restaurants around for breakfast, lunch or dinner. There is a really nice Indian restaurant down the road which serves a very spicy curry! It was walking distance (10 mins) to Borough market where you can find very good food for lunch. I also like walking along the southbank to St Paul's (5 mins away). Most important it has strong aircon but the unit can be noisy. Anyway if I can get a good price I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyFeet25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#264 of 1,076 in London
3,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Southwark

Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#205 Family Hotel in London
#264 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $97 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Southwark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Central Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge
Travelodge London Central Southwark England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing