We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation contributed to a great weekend in London.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Ranked #403 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Kildare, Ireland.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation contributed to a great weekend in London.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I done a lot of research into which Travelodge we used on our recent trip to London and can honestly say was very happy with my final choice. The accommodation was clean which was a high priority and the bed was very comfortable, great night sleep was had by everyone. Only problem we encountered was the air conditioning in one of our rooms, everything else met our requirements. Breakfast was adequate, we ate at the Travelodge on our first night and again the food was very acceptable. All the staff we encountered were efficient and friendly. Overall would have no hesitation in recommending this Travelodge and would certainly stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    776
    301
    116
    75
See reviews for
683
573
72
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Close to the Thames, good pubs and restaurants and the Globe. Just what we wanted. The amenities were good - no frills but all you need. Air conditioning was very welcome. Would be happy to recommend it and stay again.

Room Tip: You need to flick the switch by the air conditioning unit before it works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
1 Thank 5Chesca5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The staff are well aware of persistant noise problems with the water pipes in the early hours of the morning,if you want NO SLEEP this is the hotel for you !
The pub opposite & the train lines located outside our window did not prove noisy,the hotel is clean & tidy & a great location but expect to be woken about 1.00 am by the water pipes, this is a huge problem when you have young children

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We’re really sorry to hear about the disruption you experienced at our hotel during your stay James D. To help us contact you so that we can find a resolution, please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to give us more detail and be sure to click on the ‘link from TripAdvisor’ option when submitting your details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Got moved to travel lodge after getting double booked at the Days Inn Waterloo. Check in staff very good helpful and efficient after getting messed about at Days Inn. Rooms looked brand new clean and comfortable, 24hr bar and buffet breakfast,not a lover of buffets but this was good food was hot and well presented. Stayed 2 nights both good no noise when we checked out they had a place to store our luggage. 2 mins from tube on Jubilee line 5 mins to black friars bridge great location

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank burf97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Only stayed one night but it went wrong from the start. The room had already been paid for £175 but because they couldnt find the fax they wanted to recharge me. I told them to ring the travel agent which they tutted about but did it as I wasnt paying again. They had received the fax but put it somewhere different.

The rooms look good, however, the toilet seat moved when you sat on it, there was a smell from the sink when you ran the water to wash your hands, there was no chain on the bath plug hole so you spent ages trying to get it out - once it was in it didnt want to move.

The curtain rail came out quite far so when the curtains were closed the light still came through the sides and the traffic up and down the street all night shone around the room and once it started to get light in the morning that was it no sleep from about 4am!

As stated before by another traveller there is a loud whinning noise all night long when someone turns on the water anywhere nearby.

The breakfast was awful - burnt scrambled eggs, greasy sausages and bacon that just about saw the pan. On the postive side the coffee was good!!

Room Tip: choose a room away from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Lou45, we’re really sorry to hear about the issues you had at our hotel and restaurant and we’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterbourne Stickland
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Visited this hotel with 3 friends. Chose it because it is convenient for Waterloo station & on the jubilee line (for 02). Reception staff were really friendly, we had planned to pay for an early check in so we could leave our bags before heading out into London, but the hotel has a luggage storage room, which is new since my previous visit. Rooms basic but clean & comfy, good a/c & shower. Fantastic view of the Shard. Railway line right outside window, but very little noise from it. We ate breakfast at Carlo's (restaurant next to travelodge) - highly recommended! We also asked for wine glasses & an ice bucket from the hotel bar which was provided without any hassle.
Excellent budget hotel for staying in london

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Clean, fresh and comfortable. Even though the view from the window was a railway bridge, we didn't hear a thing. Nice and central. Short taxi ride from Liverpool St. No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#251 of 1,067 in London
3,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Southwark

Property: Travelodge London Central Southwark
Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#205 Family Hotel in London
#264 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Southwark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, getaroom.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge London Central Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge
Travelodge London Central Southwark England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing