We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tantalising twists on Thai favourites”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sri Suwoon

Sri Suwoon
Reserve with OpenTable
Sri Suwoon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #951 of 22,375 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Pimlico
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tantalising twists on Thai favourites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Tempura squid irresistible - succulent and spicy. Crisp mango in the rib eye salad brought a delightful 'tang' to the meatiness. Fresh mint with the Nua Gratiem refreshes and cuts through the garlic. Not my first visit but cooking still creative but rooted firmly in Thailand. By the way it is now called srisuwoon - recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brymay5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    86
    17
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just gets better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Now quite a regular at this delightful Thai restaurant. There is always something new to try on the specials board. Plah Peo Wahn - sea bass fillets in a sweet and sour tamarind sauce was divine. Tamarind delivered just the right balance of sweet and sour and the water chestnuts brought a pleasently surprising crunch. My colleague had Larb Nua - a Thai chargrilled rib eye salad - with green mango - fragrant and zesty. Staff are always helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the myriad fresh Thai ingredients that go into the dishes.
Looking at the downstairs bar for our Christmas party - with live music!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brymay5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
465 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Still good after change of ownership”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

We ate here 2 years ago when it was Blue Jade (I think it really is 'Sri Suwoon' now) and it certainly is different, as you would expect. We missed the quirkiness and friendliness of the previous place but can't say the new one is bad just because it's different (and wouldn't you expect the shrine to the previous owner's father to have gone?).
In fact, we quite liked the new decor and found the food excellent (best chicken satay for a long time) and well priced. The younger lady who did most of our service was friendly and helpful (though I have to say that the older lady (owner?) should smile more). At £60 for 2 people for 2 (big) courses with a bottle of wine and coffee, we'll return next time we're in the area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Thai dining in a delightful backwater”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Fresh Thai restaurant on a quiet street opposite the recently re-opened Greyhound Pub. Concertina french doors on two sides - let the Summer in and create a very relaxing ambience - intensified by the Babel Gilberto/slow Bossa Nova background and fresh flowers on tables.

Staff were smart and welcoming with waitress Leena patiently steering us through the menu and very respectable wine list. A weekly specials board offered enticing alternatives and suggested creative drive in the kitchen - the pan fried seabass with red curry and kaffir lime leaves was fragrant and intoxicating. My wife had a chicken fillet marinated in green curry, chargrilled and topped with deep fried lemon grass which was simply divine.

I learned that the Chef is also the owner with her brother as sous-chef - the sense of a family show certainly comes through the menu, presentation and attention to customers.

A bit of an insiders secret and certainly worth a short walk from Victoria station - you can (as we did) always combine it with a couple of ales at the Greyhound!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brymay5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
656 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Went to Sri Suwoon aka Blue Jade with friends for dinner. It was empty when we arrived around 7pm but it got crowded later in the evening. The waitress was honest and gave us good suggestions on menus. it's bit of nowhere but we found it quite relaxing as it is not facing main road although it's only a stone away from Victoria Station. Certainly we will go back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Normadroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sri Suwoon also viewed

 

Been to Sri Suwoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing