We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not live up to expectations”
Review of Hache Chelsea

Hache Chelsea
Ranked #914 of 23,009 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $56
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: South Kensington
Description: Hache Burger has given the burger restaurant a full Chelsea makeover. In a prime location on London's Fulham Road, Hache Burger has created the ultimate gourmet burger experience, garnering praise from food critic bigwigs along the way. Delightfully intimate and friendly, Hache has a relaxed, local vibe but still feels surprisingly special in its refined atmosphere and stylish decor. It's clear from the moment you step through the door that Hache offers much more than the average, and the menu is indeed a testament to quality ingredients and creative cookery, bringing the humble burger in to seriously gourmet territory. The kitchen uses only 100% prime Scottish beef, supreme chicken and fresh fish and vegetables on its acclaimed menu.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Did not live up to expectations”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I have read a few reviews and had high expectations from this place.
The adult burgers were good but not spectacular, I wouldn't even rate them above Byrons.
We ordered the children's burger for our 4 y.o. and the meat was much drier and far more peppery than the adults', it was almost inedible to him.
Service was pleasant but they did mix up our order and subsequently billed us incorrectly, it was sorted out with no fuss but only after we spotted it on the bill.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A13JWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    128
    36
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Excellent Service with attention to detail”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We have been here several times, almost inevitably choosing this restaurant when we have a family celebration. The food is good and very reasonably priced - but above all, the service never fails us. The staff work continuously, looking to see if anyone needs anything with great attention to detail - clearing away empty bottles, providing clean napkins, checking that everyone is happy with their food. Okay, it might be a little noisy at times...but rather that than no atmosphere at all. We will be back again....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank castell0100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

I expected a lot more of this place. It is supposedly a gourmet burger place and it was not.

The place has nice decor and good service but the food was anything but gourmet. The burger that I had was dry and decent at best. The ciabatta bread that the burger came in seemed old and that made the burger very dry and sort of bland. In all fairness the food was decent but not not at all great.

In short I was not impressed. I was actually kind of disappointed, Maybe it was an off-day for them and I do think the place has good potential.

Helpful?
Thank Imad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, shame about the noise”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I had promised myself to not go back since one time, long ago, they asked my party to leave a credit card at the counter if we were to have lunch at a table outside. And instead, by random chance, I happen to be there again after two years.

Whispering couples beware, the place is crowded even out of peak time and it's noisy and the music plays loud. We had a table in a corner where it was a bit better but we still had to converse by shouting.

The burgers are, tho, almost perfect. Tasty, seasoned just right, not slathered in dubious sauces, substantial and meaty and delicious. The desserts are huge, maybe a bit unimaginative but still yummy. Staff rrrrreally nice, and reasonable bill. Not giving five stars because of tiny grudge on that credit card two years ago and because of the booming noise, but the food and the service would deserve them.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjacob75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Sexy”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The chocolate brownie in this place is absolutely sexy mmm , had a Mexican burger it was so hot like the staff in here ;)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hache Chelsea also viewed

 

Been to Hache Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing