We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding sushi - outstanding value”
Review of Mai Sushi

Mai Sushi
Ranked #1,526 of 22,857 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $33
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Description: Mai Sushi is located near Kings cross/Euston station and just behind the British Library. Little restaurant for perfect lunch and dinner with very warm greeting. All sushi and Sashimi are made on order, so you get the best taste of freshness of all ingredients.
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Outstanding sushi - outstanding value”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Unexpected in place and appearance as one of the best sushi restaurants I have been to. First rate sushi beautifully made and presented from a long menu. The set Bento's are very good value. Unrushed and a good place to meet, talk and eat

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    124
    33
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great sushi near Kings Cross station”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We tumbled across this great little sushi place during our one night stay in the Kings Cross area. Owned and run by Vietnamese, but they do a great job serving fresh sushi and a few hot rice dish. Price is very reasonable if not on the low end for London.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chad2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very good value Japanese food, with excellent service”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I found this while searching the site for reasonably priced Japanese food in London. As a previous reviewer has pointed out, it's oddly located (and its opening hours are limited - 12-2.30 and again in the evening) but it's very pleasant inside and the food is really good. The sashimi were well presented and very fresh indeed, the nigiri and sushi were better than at chains such as itsu and wasabi box but much the same price, and I saw other people enjoying the hot food and bento boxes. Very near the British Library, King's Cross/St Pancras and Euston stations. The service was helpful and smiling, with the waitress showing no impatience as I waited for my friend to turn up. It will be my Japanese of choice in London!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMCES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
535 reviews
434 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“great food!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I was on another weekend trip to London and love oriental food, usually visiting establishments in Chinatown. This time I did some research beforehand and decided to head to mai sushi. I arrived alone just after 8pm on Friday night and there was nowhere to sit so I opted for a takeout. Blackened cod - perfectly cooked and lovely flavour. Nice agadashi tofu and rice. All came up to £17. Service was friendly but could have been faster. My food took 25 minutes to cook and I felt the place was under staffed as I noted dishes sitting around for a few minutes before being taken to customers. Was annoyed that I wasn't offered any tea whilst waiting and also annoyed that tables had been cleared by the time my food was ready and I wasn't offered the option to dine in. Overall, lovely food though. Maybe just a bad day for me!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank huge_appetite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Odd Location, Great Sushi”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Down a side street near St Pancras/Euston stations, it's a bit out of the way, but the sushi is really excellent and reasonably priced. A good selection, and one of the few doing mackerel. Been here a couple of times and would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orange_Sakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mai Sushi also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Mai Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing