We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kings Cross Inn Hotel
Ranked #853 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Redmond, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Would not return”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

While this is listed as a three star that is a stretch The location is very convent to the Kings Cross station and St Pances , while for the most part I found the hotel to be generally clean and the staff friendly there are a number of aspects that guarantee I would never return. These range from the need to run the in-room AC/heat unit consistently in order to provide white noise to drowned out the sound of the Tube Northern Line which apparently runs under the hotel causing the windows to rattle and walls to shake. When I stayed in October 2012 the breakfast was abysmal, while I understand they are in construction of their Bar/Restaurant that should improve the situation I am afraid that will just add the general nose level which keeps one awake at night. The in room services are basic, great at changing our your towels, but don't expect anything more, one evening my bathroom floor was worse than when I left that morning. Lastly of the 6 night I stayed at the King Cross Inn Hotel they managed to set the fire alarm off 4 of the six morning, one morning three times. My suspicion is this was a result of trying to serve breakfast in a makeshift dining room.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, make sure you get a room not on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Just_Dog_Woof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    217
    221
    108
    122
See reviews for
196
199
46
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The only good thing about this place is the fact that it is cheap and located right next to euston and other major train and tube stations. To begin with the staff where very unfriendly and made myself and 3 friends feel very uncomfortable! There was no record of our reservation when we arrived and had to wait 15 minutes to get greeted- with that no apology! The room was fairly clean! However broken locks on door and bathroom door! Maybe they should consider the safety of there customers as you could easily walk on and out of rooms! Lights going off and on in the middle of the night so I decided to go and see what was going on- on doing do I opened my bedroom door only to set an alarm off, first and last hotel I stay in whereby an alarm is sounded when I open my bedroom door. Checked out of hotel in early hours after deciding that we were not sleeping there- highly recommend premiere inn just across the road, checked in late there and the staff couldn't have been more welcoming

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Csp91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Rooms are a little small, but unlike some of the earlier reviewers we did not have to give a deposit for the TV remote and we were not charged extra for using credit card or leaving bags. Maybe they read these reviews and improve their service?

Very convenient for the Eurostar

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuperin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the King's Cross Inn after booking through LateRooms.

Location is opposite St Pancras/King's Cross and is ideal for getting around. Rooms are modern and are well equiped with air con, flat screen TVs and are clean.

What really lets this hotel down is the penny pinching; if it can be charged for, it will be. If you choose to pay by credit card upon arrival, there's a whopping 4% charge for this!
After checking out, if you want to leave your luggage for more than 2 hours that's an extra £5.
Breakfast was very poor. If you want an English Breakfast, you can, but again it'll cost extra. The Continental breakfast consisted of a plate of ham and cheese with cereal - not the best start to the day and certainly not value for money.

The hotel has so much potential, but the extra charging really left a sour taste in the mouth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which doesn't look directly into McDonald's!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Room was very small but i didn't go to London to sit in a hotel room! Chose this place as it was great location for attending nearby gig of Nada Surf and plenty of places to eat nearby following the gig. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. I thought it was reasonably priced for London.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanymor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iz-Zejtun, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I have just been at this hotel for 1 week and I must say that I was very glad to find such friendly people working at this hotel. Help with our luggage, clean rooms, tea and coffee facilities in the room, guidance from the receptionist whenever we had queries about our travels ... This stay was fantastic!
Location is exceptional because it is simply in front of Kings Cross Train Station so very very central especially if travelling all the time by underground :)
I must add that breakfast was good as well and staff very nice and efficient. Will surely visit this hotel again when staying in London!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised at how tastefully and functionally designed the room was. The rooms may be small, but that's part of staying in London. I have mobility issues, and the staff was just so accommodating and helpful. It was pristine, too. The housekeeping staff really knows their duties and performs them well. The location was the reason I booked this hotel, being right across the street from Kings Cross/St. Pancras station, but I found it to be so much more. I recommend Kings Cross Inn Hotel highly.

I think perhaps the wifi is a little expensive for what you get, but it's nice that it's offered. I had problems disconnecting, even with my computer off, so the time went too quickly. They offer a continental breakfast, which we didn't buy due to it being pricey. Still, I think the hotel is a very good one. I only go into these tiny details because they are so nearly perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FSTriptych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#562 of 1,069 in London
915 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#130 of 1,069 in London
2,442 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#250 of 1,069 in London
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#259 of 1,069 in London
1,748 reviews
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#395 of 1,069 in London
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Cross Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Cross Inn Hotel

Property: Kings Cross Inn Hotel
Address: 9-11 Euston Road, London NW1 2SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #853 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Cross Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Cross Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Cross Inn Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing