We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky”

Megans Cafe & Grill
Ranked #2,395 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: Cafe, European, British, Grill, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Hammersmith / Fulham
Description: A lovely caf�� style restaurant, Megan���s Restaurant and Deli brings Kings Road down to earth in the very best way possible. Situated among high end interiors shops and antique stores, Megan���s is surprisingly rustic, the kind of place you might expect to run into in the more ���villagey��� neighbourhoods of London. But it���s this unexpected quality that makes Megan���s all the more like stepping in to an alternate universe ��� one of chintz teacups and wedges of cake, homey food and smiling service, outside you���ll even find London���s answer to the Holy Grail ��� that���s right, a garden! Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner, all freshly created with real heart.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quirky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Quite deceptive from outside, but an extremely busy weekend spot. Brunch menu is very extensive and well priced. The outside area is quaint, one would not think you were dining in London. Nice service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sameoffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    73
    38
    41
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Service average.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Megan's had been recommended to us for Sunday Brunch. It wasn't busy when we arrived and as there were five of us we were shown downstairs. It's small and rustic.
Menu is good and three of us had eggs Benedict and two scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. It was a bit slow coming but the Eggs Benedict came first. Plates cold and food distinctly luke warm. But it took a good four minutes for the scrambled eggs to come by which time we had eaten half our EB. To be fair the eggs were perfect, the Parma ham worked great, the hollandaise sauce was lovely and the crusty bread good. Shame about it being lukewarm.
We then asked for butter for our toast and another wait. Why wasn't this served along with the toast?
Staff were nice but we won't hurry back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pasty9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oasis in the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Having lived in London for five years and within walking distance of this restaurant, it is just typical that I discovered it just before I emigrated from UK...! This cute cafe offers great value in Chelsea on the King's Rd. The perfect oasis in the city for a tasty brunch and de-briefing on a Sunday morning after a Saturday night out with friends. I have also been for dinner here, the ambiance and fresh, organic ingredients make it an overall treat. And I didn't even mention the cakes.....

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yogabunny30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average food. Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Turned up for a quick breakfast on the recommendation of friends. We awkwardly waited at the front of the restaurant to be seated before being looked at like we were stupid and told we could pick a seat downstairs. Ordered a flat white which seemed to be half water / half milk (what is that even called?) and a full breakfast which I could have made better myself at home. The waitress was quite rude when I said that they'd brought the wrong toast and proceeded to bring me four of the tiniest scraps of the toast I had asked for when she returned. On the upside my boyfriends eggs benedict looked a lot better - so perhaps go for them and skip the big brekkie! The courtyard is also definitely a plus so I recommend sitting there - very cute area to sit and kept nice and warm despite cold / terrible weather outside!

Helpful?
Thank MissSaucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simple, Beautiful, Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Walk through the front deli/cafe area, and you find yourself in a beautiful indoor garden, the walls strewn with fairy light laden vines (fake, but nonetheless effective) transporting a wintery February night into a scene from a Midsummer Night's Dream. The menu is very basic; in essence, you choose some meat/poultry/fish and it will arrive on a large wooden platter, flame-grilled and piled high with chips. This is certainly not fine dining, but it's simplicity is somehow reassuring, and more importantly, it tastes great. Among our party we had dishes ranging from Steak, Sea Bass, Swordfish (a highlight) Tiger Prawns and enormous tentacles of Octopus. If we had stopped there it would have been perfect. The deserts, however, were very disappointing; creme brûlé that tasted more like vanilla mousse and cheesecake so packed with gelatine you needed a knife to cut it. That being said, the main event was so pleasing that I would not hesitate to go back, or to recommend it to others.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RexDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Megans Cafe & Grill also viewed

 
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Megans Cafe & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing