We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wilmington

The Wilmington
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wilmington is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #102 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Clerkenwell
Description: ABOUT THE WILMINGTON The Wilmington is a listed 19th Century public house conveniently positioned across from the food mecca, Exmouth Market. The Wilmington is open for brunch, lunch and dinner from 11am Monday to Thursday, 10am on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays. An elegant and comfortable public house, we aim to offer the perfect respite for local business, residents and Exmouth Market visitors alike.The team have carefully reinstated the large glass atrium, which was originally installed in the 19th Century. This impressive historic feature spans the rear dining area and highlights the open kitchen, which gives diners a preview of the action backstage.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous meal here and good choice of wines/beers but the crowning glory of this gastro pub is the staff. Without exception, they were helpful, charming and capable.

We would definitely return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bec B, Assistant Manager at The Wilmington, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Carol. Many thanks for taking the time to write us a review here at The Wilmington. I am delighted to see you had a great experience with us, and I hope to see you back here at The Wilmington soon. Customer feedback is the bench mark in driving our business forward, and meeting the needs of our customers, so once again, thanks for your time. Have you tried our Bun & Cheek? Check it out next time your in! Best regards, Bec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    123
    30
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lively Friday night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Not a place for a quiet dinner on Friday evening. We three had main course and dessert. Côte de boeuf for two and hot salmon fishcakes delicious but raspberry Pavlova a disaster. Honey cone ice cream met with approval. Good wine list and the Argentine Sauvignon rouge a treat. Service left a lot to be desired. Bread came after main course. Two waitresses over stretched.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bec B, Assistant Manager at The Wilmington, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Jane
Many thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Our customers are the most important part of our business, and feedback is the most invaluable tool in helping us see what we are doing well, and where we may have got something wrong. I can see from your visit with us last week that you did not get the exceptional experience our customers are accustomed to at The Wilmington, and I would be very grateful if you would kindly email me a few more words on your experience with us. I really would like to put right what went wrong, and give you the experience you should have had the first time around. Please email me on info@wilmingtonclerkenwell.com. I very much look forward to hearing from you. Once again, thank you for your time. Kind Regards, Bec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best chips!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We came for dinner before going to Sadlers Wells. Staff were welcoming and happy to let us sit where we want. So we sat in a booth which was cosy. We ordered some croquettes to share. There was a choice of 3 and the waitress said we could have one of each if we wanted. We had the ham hock with gruyere and shrimp and peas. Both were really delicious. I had the confit of belly pork with Jerusalem artichokes. The pork was huge. The sauce was really nice. My partner had the lamb cassoulet with merguez sausage. We also shared rosemary chips. The chips were perfect crisp on the outside and fluffy inside. Really nice meal. Would recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheungster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bec B, Assistant Manager at The Wilmington, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback, we're so glad that you enjoyed your evening with us and hope you had a great time at Sadlers Wells! We've actually got some new croquettes on the menu now - Jerusalem artichoke, Beef goulash and Raclette and pancetta, come down and try them some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“How Pubs Should Be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Sunday lunch at The Wilmington. I know it's their job, but the guys that run this place are great. They really care about customer service and are knowlegeable about the beers they sell. Outside benches on a sunny afternoon are OK as the road is not too busy and inside is comfortable too. Some of the biggest yorkshire puddings I have ever seen and everything you would expect from a traditional sunday lunch. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodHonestAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bec B, Assistant Manager at The Wilmington, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Local cask conditioned ales and awesome food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

I love that we could work up an appetite walking from the British Museum after a late night visit there before our dinner at the Wilmington. So many things to like about this place. The wait staff was AWESOME- friendly and helpful and patient. Loved them. The cask conditioned ales were all local to the UK and, for my husband who loves them, were a real treat. One of them had a lovely caramel flavor to it (too bad I don't know the name!). Then there's the food. We had frito misto to start. Their version has the added bonus of roasted fennel. SO GOOD. My husband loved his pork belly main and I loved my crab gratin with chips. The toffee pudding to end the meal put us into a food coma but we loved every minute of it!! We would definitely come back here, but it is not really centrally located (it's a 25-30 min walk from Russell Square).

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexSomLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnnyWilmington, General Manager at The Wilmington, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hi Alex. Great to hear you and your husband had a great time here at The Wilmington. The ale you had I think was Kohinoor from Windsor & Eaton brewery. That is a special one they brew every so often, and first started it to celebrate the queens diamond jubilee! We’ve replaced the Fritto Misto with monkfish cheek fritters, Ndjua aioli which is heavenly. And if you liked the fennel, try our new whole globe artichoke with saffron & shallot vinaigrette for £7! Delish and perfect to set you up for the walk home to Russell Square! Regards, Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wilmington also viewed

 

Been to The Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing