We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crowded but very good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wellington

The Wellington
Ranked #714 of 22,199 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: You'd be hard pushed to find a finer real ale pub in Strand London. In fact, we believe The Wellington is unrivalled in its choice of quality cask-conditioned beers and carefully compiled menu of British pub dishes.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
891 reviews
416 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Crowded but very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We arrived at about 6.30 pm, the restaurant was full, but we made a booking and took a 'buzzer' to be called whilst at the down stairs bar. With 15 minutes we were seated.

service was very good, meals great, wine good, all up would highly recommend for a good pub meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    360
    80
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have eaten twice now at the Wellington on the Strand. Both meals were excellent! The wait staff was attentive and helpful with suggestions. The chicken and mushroom pie was wonderful. The crust on top was flaky and golden brown. The chicken and mushrooms cooked just right.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank London044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Ate a late lunch before a show. The pork belly salad was odd. The chicken and mushroom pie was heavy but good. Not impressed with this pub. Quite disappointing for a 1st pub visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CandLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday roast dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Was so nice to finally have a lovely meal in a London pub. I have been to London more than four times now and this was the first time I enjoyed pub food.
I had the roast chicken and it was delicious. Came with roast potatoes, parsnips, green beans and Yorkshire pudding with lots of gravy. Very tasty, very hot and too much food. My husband had the fish and chips and said they were great.
Our waiter was attentive, watchful, timed perfectly even though he was very busy. Very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank margo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
175 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“1st Fish & Chips & British Lager”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Riding the Big Bus Tour from Hyde Park is hungry & thirsty work, hoped off near this pub, went in and ordered fish & chips & beers, sat outside in the lovely sunshine and watched foot and road traffic. The staff was very friendly and helpful with the beer choices. Food was served promptly, hot, fresh & very tasty. Thanks Wellington for 1st & best Fish & Chips !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarieRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wellington also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing