We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Every visit to London starts here”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Skinners Arms

Skinners Arms
Ranked #260 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Bloomsbury
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Every visit to London starts here”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I love this pub, the staff are always lovely, the food is great and only minutes away from Kings Cross, this is a must stop every time I travel to London and it never disappoints---its not open on a Sunday, otherwise the start and ending of each trip would be at this pub! Next trip coming up!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank syl188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    134
    26
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lilydale, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great local pub!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This pub was recommended by our hotel and with good reason. Warm and friendly staff make this pub a pleasure to visit. Great local beers and a good pub menu. Big enough that you will get a table and small enough for a cheery atmosphere, highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebMarmion1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A 'Classic English Pub' with great food”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This pub is located in a residential area, away from the busy streets found nearby. We stopped in for a late lunch and it was very uncrowded. Our server recommended their fish and chips and they arrived quickly and were piping hot. The fish was the largest piece we'd ever seen in a 'fish and chips' order and it was really tasty and fresh. The Skinners Arms is a good choice if you're looking for an unhurried meal in a classic pub setting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank km11s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Good Pub”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Came across the Skinners Arms one day after work and popped in for a quick drink on the way to going somewhere to eat. Saw they did food too so looked at the menu and decided to stay there to eat, which turned out to be a good decision. The extremely reasonably priced food was great, I had the burger which was very nice and an absolute bargain. Stayed for another couple of drinks and enjoyed the atmosphere. Will go again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Worldwide87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips were Outstanding”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My husband and I visited London recently to see some friends from when and we felt a bit displaced staying in a hotel since we had lived there before. However, this brought us to a new area of London and one night we decided to try a pub down the street from our hotel instead of our regular spots.

Too bad we did not find Skinners Arms sooner! What a gorgeous pub. We were promptly served wonderful cask ales and cider and the staff was friendly and helpful. We both got the fish and chips, a definite must when in London and they were amazing. The chips were crisp and the fish was fresh and fried to perfection. It was the best fish and chips I have had in a pub. We had the Sticky Toffee Pudding for desert and it was just as good as the rest of our meal. The Skinners Arms is a great pub and should not be missed whilst in London.

The rest of the night we sat there talking until closing, paid and left. Whilst walking back to our hotel we hear someone yelling at us from down the street! We had left our credit card when starting out the tab when we arrived and he had run THREE BLOCKS to return it to us! It was so kind and thoughtful as our flight to Sweden was the next day! After thanking him profusely we were on our way. Talk about above and beyond customer service!

Do not miss Skinners Arms pub on your next trip to London!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skinners Arms also viewed

 

Been to Skinners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing