We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I'd thought of it!”
Review of The Ring

The Ring
Ranked #1,546 of 23,024 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Description: Famously situated opposite the site of the historic home of British boxing and sharing its name, this compact pub certainly punches above its weight. Pictures of the men who boxed at The Ring and went on to become World, European and British Champions adorn the walls. There's plenty of seating outside the pub, which is directly opposite Southwark tube station and acts as a great focal point, landmark and meeting place right on the corner of Blackfriars Road and The Cut. The Ring boasts a great selection of Lagers, Real ales and Craft beers as well as a delectable food menu including BIG APPLE HOTDOGS which are hand-made in London using only natural casings and quality ingredients, using free range pork and prime beef! Award winning Home made Burgers, Scotch Eggs, Nachos and Fish and Chips. We look forward to seeing you at The Ring.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wish I'd thought of it!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Found this place on trip advisor went along to see if it was good as the reviews and its better!
Great hot dogs, great chip and great onion rings.
Very resonably priced and a nice atmosphere, we will defiantly be going again!!
Worth a visit!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Biffa03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    111
    34
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Pub, Food and Vibe”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Popped into The Ring with my girlfriend on the way to The Tate Modern. Its right across the road from Southwark tube. It became the main event of the day haha. Such a friendly atmosphere in this cool popular bar; we loved all the London history on the walls. I had an amazing burger but my girlfriend had what may have been the best hotdog I ever tasted. Will def be going back soon...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas, United States
1 review
“Awesome Pub, great 'Dogs!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was in town on business from Texas and discovered The Ring on my way to The Tate Modern. Conveniently, it's right across from the tube.
I travel a lot and had one of the best hot dogs I can remember combined with a nice pint of ale. This pub is very popular, and for good reason. The atmosphere was very pleasant as were the staff.
I'm also a sports fanatic, so that aspect was cool. They took some time designing the interior details. Everything I look for in a pub. I'll be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Tasty hot dogs!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Loved the handmade sausage in the delicious hot dogs! Other meals fine and service good though could have been quicker. Outside seating and benches inside. Pub style with plenty if beer on tap.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank minkyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“BEST HOTDOG EVER”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Found this pace by accident on the way to Southwark tube station (which is right opposite) - a bit peckish and fancied a quick snack on a lovely sunny Sunday afternoon. Opted for the 'Big 'Frank' and it was amazing - better than the one we had in Madison Square Gardens earlier this year. Give it a go - you won't be disappointed!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tallulahSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ring also viewed

 

Been to The Ring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing