We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, atmosphere and food”
Review of Melanie Restaurant

Melanie Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Melanie Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,399 of 23,009 Restaurants in London
Price range: $1 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: An Italian restaurant out of the ordinary, Melanie���s specialises in Neapolitan food, setting it apart from the numerous other dining rooms in London���s central Soho area. Located on the notorious Old Compton Street, close to Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square and the numerous theatres and cinemas the West End has to offer, Melanie���s is easy to spot thanks to its large awning proudly displaying the red, green and white of the Italian flag. Inside, you���ll find a dining room clad in much light wood and full of light, traditional, simple and comfortable in its d��cor. In the kitchen, the focus is very much on the use of good ingredients, the chefs sourcing local and seasonal produce for their classic Neapolitan dishes. You���ll recognise many of Melanie���s offerings, from favourite pizzas to well known pasta dishes, but you���ll also be tempted to try the specialties of the house which include the typical ingredients of Naples and the surrounding countryside and have roots in the Greco-Roman period.
kent
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great staff, atmosphere and food”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were going to see Jersey Boys, and while waiting to go in we looked for somewhere to eat afterwards. There was a lovely waitress near the door, and because of her friendliness, we decided to eat there after the show.

Well, it was the right descision. The staff were great despite being short handed. They were friendly and attentive, and were flying round the restaurant ensuring everyone was fed.

Food was beautifully cooked, presented, tasty and hot. I had a pasta dish and my friend had a pizza.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cuddlydove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    176
    77
    29
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Value, Good Food....”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I researched this restaurant on tripadvisor before travelling to London, and we booked a table through toptable.com as the restaurant website does not work as it was my friends 40th birthday we were celebrating. This was, unfortunately, pointless because they had no idea about our reservation and no table was actually reserved. What a shame considering I'd gone to the trouble.

Anyway, we got to the restaurant and it has a really nice atmosphere in there, nice staff and a relaxed vibe. Very small restaurant with authentic decor. We all ordered our food and we were very impressed, considering the reasonable prices. It wasn't faultless - the mussells were lovely, however the white wine sauce was too watery, the chicken was well cooked however the sauce could have done with a little more flavour, however on a whole the food was good and more importantly, very good value.

Service was nice and quick although when you need something it takes a while to get the waiters attention as there are very few of them. Overall though, the experience was lovely and I would recommend this restaurant to anyone needing an Italian restaurant near to the theatre (we were going to see Jersey Boys and it was just down the road - perfect location).

Great location, good food and fantastic value - what more could you want?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claritabelle90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh food”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Not been to this restaurant for a good few years but when we returned today it was just as good as it ever was. Both my husband and I had seafood and it was cooked to perfection. Food hot and despite being busy, no one was flustered and no delays in service.
They have fitted a few more tables than I remember so not that romantic, but we enjoyed the company of people on the adjoining table and this probably enhanced the whole experience.
Certainly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitto211064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great place, great food and great staff”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

stumbled over this little gem whilst out for drinks with friends and as no one could make a decision on where to eat we decided to risk and wasn't disappointed.

The place was really welcoming and we didn't have to wait long for a table for 5 people. There was lots of choice on the menu and a good wine selection to go with it.

So, at first I found the service a little slow and almost decided to leave - thank god we didn't. The food was amazing, it tasted and looked home made and clearly cooked fresh.

As it was my birthday, the staff helped to celebrate it with a cake and a rendition of 'happy birthday' - they made it very special.

The atmosphere in the restaurant and the excellent staff are something special that lacks a lot in the other restaurants in the area - and actually the service wasn't that slow and not rushed either - it was more about me needing to relax and chill!!

I can wait to go back to this restaurant and will certainly be taking friends and family their when they come to visit.

So would I go back - absolutely and cant wait

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excelent food at affordable prices”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

found the Italian Melanie restaurant by accident, after a show at the theatre.
had 4 meals, and not one complaint.
friendly staff, reasonable prices, good service.
Would (and have) recommend to anyone.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AWJ58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melanie Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Melanie Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing