We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely pub, great atmosphere, wonderful staff”
Review of Nell of Old Drury

Nell of Old Drury
Ranked #7,240 of 22,557 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: We are a friendly traditional pub in covent garden. Our emphasis is on great atmosphere and good beer. Unfortunately we do not serve any food but if you're looking for a pre or post theatre drink, we can definitely offer you great service in little piece of local history.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely pub, great atmosphere, wonderful staff”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The Nell of Old Drury is an excellent little pub right in the heart of Covent Garden it has a warm and welcoming atmosphere very friendly staff and is always very theatrical. If you want a real London Pub experience you must try it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lilaccat555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    16
    7
    0
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Star of Covent Garden”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

This is undoubtedly THE pub to go to, if you find yourself in Covent Garden. Its history and link to the Theatre Royal Drury Lane opposite is fascinating and can be read on the panels outside the pub. It is undoubtedly the favourite pub to all that work on and offstage in theatres nearby. The friendly staff and warm atmosphere will make you stay till closing time and return for more visits. Also perfect for pre- and aftershow drinks.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Countessa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Such a great little pub”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

First stumbled into The Nell (literally; it had been a lunch-and-a-half at the Theatre Royal Drury Lane) one afternoon about 15 years ago. Left at closing time and have never really looked back...

That day there was a young lad behind the bar fresh down to London from somewhere northern. That was Lee: he manages the place now and a damn fine job of it he does too. It became a regular haunt and is now the one pub I always make a point of visiting when I am ‘back home’. Great crowd - really friendly mix of locals and regulars which on any night will include crew from the various theatres, musicians from the Royal Opera House; then there are the tourists on ‘ghost walks’ and, of course, the rest of us: a diverse crowd who know a decent boozer when we find one and keep coming back. And the staff are better than good too: efficient, helpful and smiling (except occasionally during the Drury Lane interval, when they have been known to frown a bit). A top pub - no evening in the West End is complete without a quick beer or twelve at the Nell.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valenciaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The One and Only!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Since moving to London around 7 years ago, I was introduced to this pub by friends and work colleagues. Since then, I won't drink anywhere else!!
A great pub, with great staff, and a great atmosphere!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clawton1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top pub in the perfect location”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you want friendly service from Lee and his lovely staff then the Nell is for you. Perfect for pre or post-theatre drinks or drinks 'just cause' this pub pulls in a healthy mixture of tourists, theatre goers, theatre workers and on the odd occasion a celebrity (Kevin Spacey).

Quick friendly service. Amazing location and on a summer evening you can stand outside and watch the world go by. Nice one.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nell of Old Drury also viewed

 

Been to Nell of Old Drury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing