We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic”

The Mitre in Lancaster Gate
Ranked #454 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Olten, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Authentic”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The food was really good, and the atmosphere in the evening was great! Felt like we were with locals, and not tourists.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdrienneB20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    323
    68
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great locals pub with tasty food”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Walked over to the Mitre pub from our hotel in Bayswater a shirt distance away on our first night in London. When we arrived the after work crowd was already in full force but was did find a table in the back room by the fire place. Excellent and friendly atmosphere. The food was better than you would expect to find at a pub and delicious. The Steak and Youngs Ale Pie was super. Very friendly staff. Interested in trying their new restaurant upstairs.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greenville_guitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one of the best”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

It's a great pub, we had a great lunch (food and wine were great) and the staff was really friendly. Dogs are allowed.
Loved it

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank InesP80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Potential to be amazing but understaffed”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Went to Mitre for my birthday with 9 friends. Was really excited as previous reviews were excellent. Lovely lady greeted us and we went for some nice drinks in old Mary's bar down stairs before dinner. Drinks took ages to arrive but were delicious once they came. Couldn't fault the food in the restaurant, lovely room and the chef was clearly well trained. Night to this point was really good. My friends and I went back down to old Mary's bar. Good crowd of people. We had to sit at a table to be served and it was round the corner on our own. Our drinks took actually an hour to come! They were delicious but the bar was clearly very understaffed. We tried to pay by card near closing time but that was also a massively stressful situation for the bar staff who couldn't process our cards quicker than one every 5 mins. There were 9 of us... As a result we all missed the last tube home at 12.25am. Overall such a shame as the manager is wicked and the building and food are faultless. Just such terrible service in the bar. So not a great end to the night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spillers31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
188 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good Fare at Mitre Lancaster Gate”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were in London for a week during our recent GB visit and stayed in the Elysee Hotel, just across from this attractive, friendly pub/restaurant. They offer tasting platters of mini pies as well as a great selection of a la carte items.

On our first visit John had the venison burger wrapped in bacon which he gave a thumbs up at
GPB 10.95 and I had a comforting roast chicken with fries and gentle topping of gravy for 11.95. A glass of pinot was only GBP 4.4, a good value in London proper.

The interior includes a wonderful fireplace, pub tables as well as booth and cozy seating and rich red draperies. There was an occasional wait during busy times and on one occassion we sipped a drink at an outdoor table while waiting for seating, but once inside, servous is friendly and reasonably timely. It has the subdued chatter of a beloved pub and brought us back again on two other evenings for a nightcap.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwoEurophiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mitre in Lancaster Gate also viewed

 

Been to The Mitre in Lancaster Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing