We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely discovery in Earl's Court/Kensington” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hansom Cab

Hansom Cab
Ranked #1,504 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are a traditional British pub serving fresh homemade food
London, England
Level Contributor
200 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A lovely discovery in Earl's Court/Kensington”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stumbled across The Hansom Cab while wandering around the parks and gardens of kensington and it turned out to be a very happy find. The room is very pleasant, light airy and well furnished, the staff were charming and our lunches were excellent - next time we'll come here on purpose!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LouisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    52
    19
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was taken here by a friend...and had a great time. Atmosphere was buzzing without being overcrowded but the food is the star. We both had new season lamb cooked medium as ordered. Lovely. Only slight issue was portion size. Desert was equally good.
Service was great too, friendly and prompt. Why is this place not higher in the TripAdvisor ranking?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rambles1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Mixed impression”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We got somewhat suspicious when the dining room was empty at 2PM, but decided to give it a try. We had lunch and both ordered battered haddock. The dish had some really nice components and some that can be improved. The mushy peas were nice, with a hint of mint. The tartar sauce was well prepared. However, the fish was greasy and there was too much batter. After a while, the plate was covered with the grease that was dripping from the deep-fried fish. The chips appeared to be ready-made.

The bar as well as the dining room are recently renovated and have a nice atmosphere. They also have a few tables outside. The staff was attentative. What a shame that the food wasn't good enough. We would really like to come back, it is a rather nice pub.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Q354nemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse
Level Contributor
149 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great location and very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Despite its' address this a quiet part of London and this is a real neighborhood local pub that serves excellent food and keeps its' beer superbly. We sat outside on the sidewalk and enjoyed a great meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ffljms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Pub, great Restaurant and best Gastro-Pub Food in Kensington”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Hansom Cab and its team is a truly lovely spot. Nestled on the corner of Edward's Square and the upper end of Earl's Court Road, it is light and airy during the day and atmospheric at night. The Fish and Chips are hands down the best in west London, but don't shy away from more adventurous options, as the chefs here are very skilled. All-round a winner, highly recommended

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Conti_Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hansom Cab also viewed

 

Been to Hansom Cab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing