We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
London
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
Review Highlights
Tour guide was Jess - LOVED IT!!!

Jess took 20 of us (New Views Playwrighting students + two supervising teachers) on the tour of the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
trixymj
Backstage and Architecture Tours

I have recently enjoyed the Architecture and the Backstage Tours at the NT. Fascinating discovery... read more

Reviewed December 22, 2019
AnaMariaGimenez
via mobile
Read all 140 reviews
  
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
130
8
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
130
8
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews backstage tour behind the scenes backstage areas prop making inner workings knew lots learned how informative experience fantastic tour older kids stage production national treasure great opportunity an excellent guide small group tour takes set design
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 140 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2019 via mobile

I have recently enjoyed the Architecture and the Backstage Tours at the NT. Fascinating discovery of some hidden, and other less hidden, aspects of this magic place. An extremely informative experience too thanks to Rupert’s knowledge and passion for the place. Highly recommended to those who live architecture or theatre or are just curious about one of London’s cultural jewels.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank AnaMariaGimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonR2174, Manager at National Theatre Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago


Thank you AnaMaria for taking the time to review these National Theatre tours - we're pleased you enjoyed both the Architecture and the Backstage tour, and as you say, these are great for theatre-lovers and architecture fans as well as those interested in culture in the capital.

I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to one of our other tours - perhaps you'd have time to discover more about the world of Costume on your next trip?

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2019 via mobile

The National Theatre is an amazing space dedicated to the craft of theatre. If you are in any doubt of this their backstage tour will set you straight.
You’ll learn how they literally produce every show from scratch. They have woodwork shops and seamstress studios where the make every single thing seen on stage. The space behind the stages is cavernous. They even have a 10 story high painting wall with three crane ‘baskets’ to decorate huge scenery panels that are then transported to the stages along the specially designed indoor ‘road’ behind the stages.
Our guide, Sarah, could not have been more knowledgable. She answered every question thrown at her without hesitation. She had the enthusiasm and passion of someone who truly loves the building and the work of the NT. It was hard not to be swept up in her childish joy at the achievements of all the incredibly talented people who make every show possible.

If you love theatre or are just interested in how these things happen I can not recommend the NT backstage tour highly enough!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank GravyG-71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonR2174, Manager at National Theatre Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5-star review and your praise for Sarah's tour.

We aim to offer an intriguing introduction to those new to Theatre, as well as providing in-depth insight for more regular theatre-goers so I'm pleased the experience was such a positive experience for you.

Thank you again for the recommendation and I hope we can look forward to welcoming back to the National Theatre soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2019

My tour guide was Jess and I had her all to myself as no one else had signed up. Her enthusiasm was wonderful and her backstage stories and knowledge awesome. I learned how the sets are made from the scenic designer's drawings/model (the carpentry shop is fascinating) to the finished scenery on stage (which arrives on its own skateboard), as well as the props, plus learning about lighting and sound. She also tells you how theatre magic is created - take a tour and ask Jess !

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank UKSean834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonR2174, Manager at National Theatre Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, and recommendation, of Jess's tour.

Our Backstage Tours showcase the auditoriums and different types of performance areas on site, as well as - as you discovered - getting to see into the workshops, and the creative spaces.

We're delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope we'll see you soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2019

Rupert was amazing! We were lucky enough to get a private tour as no one else signed up for our day/time. Rupert was fantastic answering our kids MANY questions and showed us some wonderful props and the sets so we could better understand all that goes into these magnificent performances. Highly Recommend!!!

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Alexis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2019

A group of us from my local theatre group joined a backstage tour of the National Theatre, led by tour guide Jess It was absolutely fascinating and Jess was an excellent guide.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank suedL2107AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews