We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest Assured This Place Is a Safe Bet with Great Hospitality to Match!”
Review of The Coach House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Coach House
Ranked #95 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rest Assured This Place Is a Safe Bet with Great Hospitality to Match!”
Reviewed May 28, 2008

Have no fear, Harley and Meena are there! For those fearful vacationers looking to book a place to stay overseas but worry about being had on arrival, the Coach House is a trustworthy booking. My first London vacation was wonderful and started by being greeted by the ever knowledgable Harley and his charming wife Meena. I would describe the Coach House as the perfect compromise between staying at a hotel and renting a private apartment. You have the benefit of hotel housekeeping but at the same time you have your own key for independent living in a delightful little two story cottage that is the Coach House surrounded by a gorgeous English garden (courtesy of Meena's greenthumb). The kitchen and upstairs bathroom are new and remodeled with modern conveniences, and comes equipped with two lovely rooms (2 beds in each room) that shout English countryside to its guests making them feel like home. The surrounding residential neighborhood is quiet and safe, convenience places (post office, market, corner restaurants.bars) are about a 7 minute walk away, and the closest tube station (Belmont) is an equal distance walk. Above all, starting each morning with Harley and Meena over a homemade breakfast in their own kitchen nook (in the "big house" that they call home) gave each day a pleasant and entertaining jump start before venturing out for the day. And the benefits of staying with a real London family is a huge benefit for travelers who'll likely find themselves in need of helpful tips and information before hitting the town. Thank you Harley and Meena for the smiles, the awesome breakfast porridge and the security of giving travelers the feeling of home.

  • Liked — A modern and clean bathroom, a beautiful garden and morning breakfast!
  • Disliked — the tight stairway
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelhound88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
13
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2008

We stayed at the Coach House for a week in May. The place was beautiful. 2 bedrooms/2 baths with kitchen and every modern convenience. It is convenient to the Tube/Rail station - about a 6 minute walk and from there you can be anywhere in London in a short amount of time. My favorite part of my vacation was having breakfast every morning. Meena is a fabulous cook and she starts you off with this porrage that is manna from the Gods. Then you still get a full English breakfast. I loved talking with Harley and Meena every morning and our conversations were very interesting. Meena was lovely, I just can't say enough about our hosts. The gardens were beautiful and we had a table and had happy hour a couple of nights outside in the gardens since the weather was so nice. I really hope my path crosses again with theirs. Thank you Coach House. www.chslondon.com.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — No washer and dryer
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CastleLvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2008

We rented a flat for one week on the south bank of the Thames with Coach House Rentals. It was terrific! The flat was comfortable, centrally located, and tastefully furnished. All the feelings of home!

Even more importantly, we found out what excellent service Coach House Rentals provides. When we arrived, there were a few minor problems with the apartment--isn't that the foreigner's nightmare? Well have no fear, because when Coach House 's representative let us into the flat not only were they the first ones to see the problem, but they made sure it was corrected that very night! A big thanks to Rosie and Harley for their outstanding efforts to make our visit a success!

If you want a flat in London, Coach House Rentals is the way to go! Enjoy!

  • Liked — Very stylish London flat, centrally located
  • Disliked — Had to leave!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdb177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We absolutely loved the Coach House. The accomodations were nicely decorated with warm and inviting colors and furnishings. The beds were comfortable, clean, we slept better than we ever do when traveling. The kitchen suited us well for nighttime snacks, hot chocolate, tea, and a quick breakfast if we needed in the morning. It was light, bright, and a wonderful place to wake up in the mornings. We enjoyed being a little outside of London (more peaceful) and found the TUBE so easy to use. Our hosts produced the most delicious breakfast and were most hospitable. It made our stay that much more memorable and special. A+++!
The Nee Family

  • Liked — the extra space
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ImtrippinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Balham
Travelodge London Balham
#346 of 1,069 in London
537 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
The Gateway Hotel
The Gateway Hotel
#551 of 1,069 in London
153 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Windmill Clapham
Windmill Clapham
#108 of 1,069 in London
550 reviews
Leigham Court Hotel
#530 of 1,069 in London
280 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
FlexiStay Aparthotel Tooting London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Property: The Coach House
Address: 2 Tunley Road, London SW17 7QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel London
The Coach House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing