We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of The Square

The Square
Ranked #274 of 22,834 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $97 - $110
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: The Square restaurant in London's ultra-smart Mayfair has four right angles: great food, wines, service, and location. The dining room is a refined space where you can seal a deal, celebrate a triumph, or simply dine incredibly well. Chef Patron Philip Howard has earned a pair of Michelin stars for his unique French-inspired haute cuisine using impeccable ingredients to create dishes capable of both gossamer elegance and vivid boldness all in the same bite. Everything is superb, though we particularly recommend the herb-crusted saddle of lamb with shallot purée, artichokes, balsamic vinegar and olive oil. The Square's wine list (wine bible, really) runs to 80 pages of the world's finest.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our dinner that The Square. This is a two-star Michelin establishment, so would expect it to be good, but it was so much better than expected. Staff were dedicated professionals for whom no request was too much (I even asked them to remove a vase of flowers near our table and they complied with no fuss). Food was excellent and the gluten free diner was accommodated with ease. Highlight was the wine waiter who greatly enjoyed his job and shared his enthusiasm for wine with every glass he delivered.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnenJimEuropeTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    654
    261
    102
    41
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mystic, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Service- OK Food”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Dined in November- service was wonderful, but the food was just somewhat pedestrian for a fine dining restaurant. I have eaten at Per Se in NYC many times, and that food blows you away. This was just very mediocre. I did expect more, perhaps it was what I ordered, but I would have chosen another Michelin Star restaurant if I had known. However, the wine pairings, service, and dessert was excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely family evening”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Lovely evening to celebrate sons graduation. Introduce our children to a tasting menu and we were not disappointed, they loved it. The food was very good, service and ambience also good. Unlike some top restaurants, it was not to too stuffy or reverential, which we liked. Flavour combinations were superb.
The Sommelier was great, but the wines were not the best we have had, could definitely be improved on.
Would definitely return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Simply very, very good!!!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were there to celebrate a 25th birthday on a Thursday night. The attention to detail regarding service, the introduction of the different foods, including so many amuse-bouches I can't remember how many I had, was all wonderful and made you feel very special and individual.

The food was wonderful, mouth watering and just the right size as I could have carried on eating till I burst, given the quality and flavour of the food.

Superb.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fussey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“OK but not great”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I had high expectations of this restaurant in view of its reputation, but was not overly-impressed. The food is good, for sure, but not great when compared to Heston Blumenthal's or Gordon Ramsay's. The atmosphere is a bit sterile and service was less attentive than I had expected. Overall, worth a try but for the money London has better.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank socaltrek91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing