We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not cheap but worth every penny” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Square

The Square
Ranked #238 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $94 - $106
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: The Square restaurant in London's ultra-smart Mayfair has four right angles: great food, wines, service, and location. The dining room is a refined space where you can seal a deal, celebrate a triumph, or simply dine incredibly well. Chef Patron Philip Howard has earned a pair of Michelin stars for his unique French-inspired haute cuisine using impeccable ingredients to create dishes capable of both gossamer elegance and vivid boldness all in the same bite. Everything is superb, though we particularly recommend the herb-crusted saddle of lamb with shallot purée, artichokes, balsamic vinegar and olive oil. The Square's wine list (wine bible, really) runs to 80 pages of the world's finest.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“not cheap but worth every penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our friends came down from Newcastle & wanted to go somewhere special to dine, well in our opinion if it's a special occasion you'll have to go a long way to find better than "The Square".
Everything about it is a cut above most of the competition, I guess that's only to be expected Michelin don't give 2 stars to just any one do they.
Don't expect a cheap night, although they do have a more affordable lunch time set menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Engineman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    644
    255
    100
    39
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
322 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Not as special as I hoped it would be!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

I've been wanting to eat here for a few years as I'm a huge admirer of Phil Howard and his team. They're known for serving truly delicious food with classic flavours and elegant presentation.

First impressions were surprisingly poor - we weren't greeted particularly warmly and this unfortunately was a running theme throughout the lunch service. The waiting staff were efficient but failed to charm us or make us feel comfortable. The atmosphere was also a bit stiff and there lacked a buzz despite most tables being filled up.

This being said, the food was outstanding. It was every bit as good as I hoped it would be. The Langoustine starter was up there with the very best I've ever eaten and the John Dory was a truly fine piece of fish with excellent garnishes. I did feel the Cheesecake Dessert was only ok but very refreshing nonetheless.

The food was at a level of fine quality and would return on that basis, however I would expect vast improvements from the front of house to uplift my overall experience and to justify its Michelin credentials.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Goop2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really slow service and limited vegetarian options”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is no doubt a very good restaurant. Staff are good and knowledgable but service is painstakingly slow. Also, if you are vegetarian, one there are not many interesting options (that may be subjective) and two, it can be quite expensive. a two course veg lunch will cost you a good £65 per person.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruchi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“2 Star luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Loved the open space not a cramped restaurant at all,we had the tasting menu ,a lot of wonderful food ,but the last main was duck ,just didn't get to enjoy it.the two puddings were beautiful especially the banana soufflé

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank joan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“just great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

On my latest visit to LONDON I WAS LUCKy TO BE DINED AT THE SQUARE ,We all had the tasting menu of 9 courses.
The best course was the foia terine and the duck which was the main and the two sweets , but the banana souffe was outstanding .
the staff are knowelagable and delightful friendly too. I thought it was not an over fussy restaurant and the customers relaxed great place to impress!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing