We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great burgers”
Review of The Hoxton Grill

The Hoxton Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
The Hoxton Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,665 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Price range: $25 - $73
Cuisines: American, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Shoreditch
Cross street: Old Street
Transit: Underground: Old Street
Description: In a charming Hoxton setting, Hoxton Grill presents an array of sumptuous American diner classics in sophisticated grill restaurant surroundings. Drawing in a fashionable crowd, the trendy American diner-style cuisine at Hoxton Grill has a contemporary edge. Hoxton Grill London has an elegant lounge and an al fresco dining area.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great burgers for a lunch although a little pricey (for a family meal, not unreasonably so for "gourmet burgers". Ambience was great, interesting place to sit and wile away some time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank davereinhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    281
    121
    47
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
“Happening Kickoff spot”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Started the night here with my mates for dinner, beef rib was surprisingly tender and tasty. Quite a buzzing atmosphere at the bar and hotel lobby helped build excitement for the rest of the night

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JAdom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton
Level Contributor
178 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Graet atmosphere, average food”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Went here for a family birthday. There is no doubt its very buzzy and plays some good music. The drinks are London prices, which you expect. We had an assortment of meals between the 8 of us and the vegetarian option and the steak was good but the ribs were all bone. You wouldnt really go here for the food, its expensive for what is on offer. Good staff though

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gillianweatherburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely food, company and price”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I went here with a group of people and loved the atmosphere and the food. The service was great and although the menu choice was quite restrictive the food was lovely. The prices were very reasonable for the meals we had, I would definitely go back!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank experttravelcorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

A group of seven of us went to the Hoxton Grill for lunch. We had heard good things about this place but I for one was wary that it was going to be a bit meeja orientated - a victory of style over substance. Indeed it is a nice looking place - modern in an almost industrial kind of way with the bar and kitchen areas taking up one of the walls so you can see the action and call over a waiter when required. Some of us were feeling rather jaded and so the waiter suggested a Bloody Mary. A default choice when you're a little fragile. However they do four versions here. Such choice on a Sunday! The difficult task of firing up the grey matter was made a lot simpler by the waiter suggesting to us that we might like a taster of each without us even dropping a hint. For the record, the beetroot one was delicious.

Food wise - if you are hungry, choose the roast. When we were there it was rib eye beef which was cooked to perfection and the helpings were generous, accompanied by a full complement of vegetables. I however went for the full English which was tasty although my only issue was that the toast came with neither butter nor jam. I am sure that both of these would have been forthcoming but at the time I wasn't too bothered and managed without.

As the meal drew to a close, disaster! One of the party discovered that he had absentmindedly brushed his leg against the bottom of the table and found a piece of discarded chewing gum attached to his leg. This is a repulsive habit of diners and I wish people would stop. Hardly the restaurant's fault but you wouldn't know it judging by their reaction. They offered profuse apologies, ice, napkins and cocktail sticks and my fellow diner was able to disengage the gum from his trousers. End of....except the manager then came over with a small Bloody Mary for everyone one at the table, an espresso martini for the 'injured party' and a truly delicious slice of pecan pie and lemon meringue pie for the table to share. A really nice and unnecessary gesture.

We left, full, content and gum free and I would recommend the Grill to anyone looking for a nice Sunday brunch/lunch if you are in the area. Do book though as it does get very busy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MatesRatesGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hoxton Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Hoxton Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing