We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Tapas in the middle of London”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dehesa

Dehesa
Ranked #1,728 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Tapas in the middle of London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Dehesa is off a lesser known street (to tourists, not to locals) that serves authentic spanish tapas (as verified by a few of my Spanish friends). I've been there with small and large groups and service has been good, wine choices also good and food is never below average. They have the more well-known tapas such as the fritatas as well as some choices such as the stuffed zucchini flowers drizzled with honey.

If you have a large group, ask for the private room downstairs

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FormerWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    203
    57
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice tapas in nice surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Celebrated friend's birthday in here last week, they gave us a private room downstairs which was a nice touch. My friend being a veggy has chosen this place as it offered quite wide list of vegetarian tapas, didn't disappoint. Don't ask me how many tapas we shared and how many bottles of wine ended up on the table, but we all left full and quite tipsy after 515 pound bill between 8 which I consider to be a pretty good value.
Thank you for having us around!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tussi_deluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
451 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Very good, nice selection good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We are here for lunch on a Saturday just after they opened. It was fairly quiet but was filling up by the time we left.

It served a good selection of tapas and meats, but not much in the way of salads.

Portions, quality, service and price were all very good and it made for a really nice lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAR-AM-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you like tapas give it a whirl”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Nice atmosphere, waiting staff were really attentive and the food was delicious. I really wanted to go to Barrafina but couldn't get a table as you can't book in advance and was pleased we got in here. Definitely worth a visit, if you haven't been to either restaurant I'd recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good service, food mixed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I were in the area and wanted a quick lunch. It was a Thursday afternoon and the place was fairly empty so we were able to get in without a booking. The service was good and the food arrived in good time. We shared a number of dishes. While the dishes are not expensive some of them were on the stingy side. We had around 7 dishes between us and left feeling somewhat hungry. The quality of the dishes was mixed, some very good and some disappointing. I have had better Spanish meals and will not rush back but may go again if in the area and just want a light snack.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManFromLondon186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dehesa also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Dehesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing