We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More attention to detail required”
Review of Hotel Megaro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Megaro
Ranked #140 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2009

We stayed here for one night and booked a triple room. This involved a pull down bed for my two year old - it was almost three foot off the floor so we simply removed the mattress, returned the bed to the wall and she slept on the mattress on the floor - that was all fine - the double bed was comfortable as well.

Good things - the room was nice, plenty warm enough, really nice looking bathroom, and the staff were very nice. The luggage room was also very handy both before checking in and on our last day.

Not so good things - the shower leaked - only had half a shower screen so had to use towels on the floor. Coffee machine in the room, but no instructions and placed in a dark cupboard so couldn't see well enough to try and work it out. The breakfast was poor - definatley the worst thing about the stay. The breakfast room is a pokey little restaurant on a minus level. Only a few tables and VERY limited choice. Just a couple of cereals, and crossaints. Obviously this is due to the space available, and it does seem the creation of the breakfast room was an after thought.

I used my airmiles to pay for this hotel and breakfast, I would have been extremely annoyed had it been pound notes for this breakfast.

I would recommend this hotel to a friend, but only if they go to Macdonalds for breakfast - much nicer!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turts99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sini K, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2017

Dear Turts99

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,221 - 2,227 of 2,624 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2009

Only stayed for one night on our way to catch the Eurostar and we liked the location and the standard (our was a superior double).There was a security door which you needed your key pass to use, thus limiting the chance of anyone walking in off the street which we appreciated. Staff were very pleasnat and helpful and we were able to check in even though we arrived a little earlier than the appointed time. The only downside to be aware of was that the room was near the front and I was woken up a few times on hearing the loudspeaker announcements for the tube station nearby. I couldn't work out what it was at first! Perhaps we'll ask for a room near the back next time, but we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdbrain1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sini K, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2017

Dear Birdbrain1948

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Having spent a nite at the Megaro Hotel on a business trip at the end of November 2009, i was most impressed with the quality of the hotel and friendliness of staff. The hotel as said before is virtually next to Kings Cross/St Pancras Station and is very well located. It is smack between Barclays Bank and Burger King and a mere 10 mins walk from Euston Station. In the vacinity are fantastic restaurants too. A well known coffee cafe is right opposite too.
I'm heading back to the UK for xmas and have re-booked a nite in the executive family room on a xmas special which includes breakfast !!
Staff are great and i would recommend you speak to Ravi and Fox who will sort out any requests you have.
I have decided to make Hotel Megaro my hotel of choice from here on in

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rezab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania S, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Hello Dear rezab,

Thank you very much for giving us a FIVE star.
It is very much appreciated. Our aim is to ensure that all our guests have a memorable and pleasant stay with us. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the strength to keep on trying our very best.
We are pleased to hear that you found our rooms beautiful and comfortable and that you found our hotel facilities, as well as location across Kings cross/ St Pancras very convenient.

We can only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Megaro

Kind regards,

Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

This hotel is ideally located with Kings Cross Station and underground on your doorstep. You can easily walk from Euston station too as it is a mere 10 minutes along the road. Also note that there is a burger king next to it (makes it a lot easier to find).
The rooms itself are lovely and maintained to a very high standard. All rooms come with free tv and internet(via the tv) and each morning you are supplied with a newspaper of your choice which is also a nice touch. The bed's are very comfortable and the shower is excellent. Only slight problem was the heat of the room which was soon solved by asking reception to turn on the air conditioning. They also have a luggage room which is very handy if you have late flight/train. I would definitely recommend this hotel as it also has a Starbucks, Costa and Tesco nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ally2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania S, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Hello Dear Ally2607,

Thank you very much for giving us a FIVE star.
It is very much appreciated. Our aim is to ensure that all our guests have a memorable and pleasant stay with us. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the strength to keep on trying our very best.
We are pleased to hear that you found our rooms beautiful and comfortable and that you found our hotel facilities, as well as location across Kings cross/ St Pancras very convenient.

We can only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Megaro

Kind regards,

Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

Great location opposite Kings Cross for us northern types. Shower was the most amazing thing we've seen with jacuzzi built in. Proper coffee machine too. Seemed to be a bargain considering location and extra freebies. Bed was super confortable too!

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank Newcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sini K, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2017

Dear Newcie

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2009

I stayed with my partner and daughter in this hotel for a long weekend. We were really pleasantly suprised. It was great value for money and ideally located, being almost opposite Kings Cross.
We had a family room which was extremely modern and clean. There was internet access via the TV - really useful for checking on places to visit. The restaurant is excellent and great value for money too. I particularly liked the friendly atttitude of all staff and it ahd a warm feel as it was a fairly small sized hotel.
I do not normally write reviews but was so impressed, felt that I should!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahlivSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sini K, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2017

Dear sarahlivSouthport

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Stayed at Megaro Hotel Friday 13th November. Perfect position for connecting to Eurostar. Rooms excellent, bed super comfy, little noisy at night but you are in London its to be expected. Expresso machine in room but degree needed to operate or i'm just not clever enough. Like previous reviewers small flood. If you need to use Eurostar and want a perfect place to sleep over then the Megaro is for you. Book you rate via hotel booking site, not direct with hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guzzlerScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania S, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Hello Dear guzzlerScotland,

Thank you very much for giving us a FIVE star.
It is very much appreciated. Our aim is to ensure that all our guests have a memorable and pleasant stay with us. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the strength to keep on trying our very best.
We are pleased to hear that you found our rooms beautiful and comfortable and that you found our hotel facilities, as well as location across Kings cross/ St Pancras very convenient.

We can only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Megaro

Kind regards,

Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#302 of 1,078 in London
1,778 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Megaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Megaro

Address: Belgrove Street | St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#117 Luxury Hotel in London
#223 Romantic Hotel in London
#286 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $149 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Megaro 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're a curious chap/lady. You want to stay somewhere central, in the most resurgent, vibrant part of London, ideally opposite a couple of stations that can take you just about anywhere in the city, the country or the continent. We don't blame you. We are more than a place to stay in the very heart of London; it's a hub of London culture and your personal gateway into what is, in our opinion, one of the coolest places in London. Minimix, our slightly bonkers lobby minibar is the threshold to a unique hotel.Join our team for cocktails upon arrival. In the morning, we serve the best breakfast in the area. Welcome to Megaro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Megaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megaro Hotel London
Hotel Megaro London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing