We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right to make you feel comfortable!”
Review of Hotel Megaro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Megaro
Ranked #140 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Excellent hotel, fantastic location, friendly stuff, very cosy spacious room, contemporary design with an appreciation for details, but without overdoing it. Just right to make you feel comfortable! I also appreciate the wooden floors and white linen, free in-room internet, deluxe coffee-machine and the daily refill of still and sparkling water. The beds are huge, but the mattress was for my standards a little too soft. However, without any doubts my favourite hotel choice in London.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania S, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Hello Dear Inken,

Thank you very much for giving us a FIVE star.
It is very much appreciated. Our aim is to ensure that all our guests have a memorable and pleasant stay with us. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the strength to keep on trying our very best.
We are pleased to hear that you found our rooms beautiful and comfortable and that you found our hotel facilities, as well as location across Kings cross/ St Pancras very convenient.

We can only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Megaro

Kind regards,

Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,230 - 2,236 of 2,582 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2009

Great hotel with really helpful staff and spotless rooms. The only issue was problems with the thermostat in the morning - the water was too hot to shower and no cold water to clean teeth! However, well worth staying here if you're off early on the Eurostar - just across the road.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CVALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sini K, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2017

Dear CVALondon

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

We stayed here for 2 days in April and picked it primarily for the location because we were headed to Paris via Eurostar. TIP: We got a great rate including full breakfast right on their website that beat all other sites prices.

I arrived a bit nervous because 2 days before the trip they emailed me to confirm my reservation was for a single (which it was not) and that there were only rooms with double beds available. I wrote back to say a double bed was really not acceptible since I had a reservation stating I booked a room with twin beds and listed the number of guests. I was travelling with a teenage daughter who tosses a lot and I am a light sleeper. They said would get me an extra bed and I assumed it would a be a roll away cot. I appreciated them doing their best to fix a terrible mix up but the idea of putting a roll away into what I imagined would be small city hotel room was a bit nerve wracking. Well I was SO WRONG they instead upgraded us to room with a separate seating area that had a double pull out couch (Which a very thick and nice mattress not one of those ones where you feel the springs through). In general the room was a great size, larger than we expected (even minus the 'sitting area' ).

The upgrade made our day but without that I still have to say the beds were VERY comfortable, everything was in beautiful new condition, I loved the Expresso machine , the bathroom was huge (not sure if that was just in the upgraded room or not) and the staff was very helpful. We were worried about Kings Cross being a bit out of the center of things but is was so easy to get around. We'll definitely chose it again if we make it back to London.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vcasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania S, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Hello hello vcasey,

Thank you very much for giving us a FIVE star.
It is very much appreciated. Our aim is to ensure that all our guests have a memorable and pleasant stay with us. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the strength to keep on trying our very best.
We are pleased to hear that you found our rooms beautiful and comfortable and that you found our hotel facilities, as well as location across Kings cross/ St Pancras very convenient.

We can only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Megaro

Kind regards,

Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

Excellent hotel for a leisure weekend in London. The underground is just in front of the main door, and St. Pancras station is at 5 minutes from the center. Huge rooms with ultra modern design and high quality materials (have the most confortable bed I've ever seen). Highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonoBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania S, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Hey hey TonoBarcelona,

Thank you very much for giving us a FIVE star.
It is very much appreciated. Our aim is to ensure that all our guests have a memorable and pleasant stay with us. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the strength to keep on trying our very best.
We are pleased to hear that you found our rooms beautiful and comfortable and that you found our hotel facilities, as well as location across Kings cross/ St Pancras very convenient.

We can only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Megaro

Kind regards,

Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

A bir pricey at £120 per night but if you want to avoid a dodgy place and make sure you stay somewhere convenient, clean and close to the train station then Megaro is the best :)

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alinad83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sini K, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2017

Dear alinad83

Thank you very much for a wonderful five star review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

We stayed here on 9 April for one night before travelling on the early Eurostar to Paris. It is literally across the road from St Pancras Station, so incredibly convenient. Food in the restaurant is excellent but unfortunately did not open until 7 am for breakfast, which was too late for us. The rooms are comfortable but quite small, however we were staying overnight only so it was not a problem. The only real criticism; the shower screen is not wide enough and the bathroom floor tends to get very wet! If you are staying for longer it might be worth paying more for the better rooms because we did suffer slightly from street noise, not enough to keep us awake all night, but enough to be disturbed.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkladywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillian M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Dear pinkladywanderer

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. On the other hand, we were sorry to read that there were a few points that were not up to standard during your stay with us. Thank you for bringing these to our attention, as without constructive feedback such as this, we cannot address areas in need of improvement. Please do accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused and be rest assured that we will be investigating further into this feedback. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2009

Stayed at the Megaro this weekend with my boyfriend for one night. The location was fantastic. Right next to the tube station so within seconds of leaving the hotel you could be on the tube to anywhere in London. Also just down the road from St Pancras so really useful for getting the train back home. We were able to leave our luggage with the hotel after checking out so didn't have to lug it around the city all day. The hotel was almost perfect. Really comfy bed, free tv and internet and a really cool jukebox kind of thing on the tv! Room was very minimalist and the wall to the bathroom is glass and completely see through! Not a prob for me and my boyfriend but might be a bit awkward if with family! Was very clean which is always a big thing for me. The only little niggles I had were we didn't have any milk in the fridge so we had to ask a maid for some before we could have a cup of tea, and we were only given one bottle of water. Could have done with more (especially with a hangover!) although seeing as it was complimentary suppose I can't really complain. To sum up great location, reasonably priced, plenty of complimentary things and really lovely hotel. Would def stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tori_luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania S, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Hello Dear tori_luke,

Thank you very much for giving us a FIVE star.
It is very much appreciated. Our aim is to ensure that all our guests have a memorable and pleasant stay with us. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the strength to keep on trying our very best.
We are pleased to hear that you found our rooms beautiful and comfortable and that you found our hotel facilities, as well as location across Kings cross/ St Pancras very convenient.

We can only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Megaro

Kind regards,

Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#289 of 1,077 in London
1,773 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Megaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Megaro

Address: Belgrove Street | St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#117 Luxury Hotel in London
#223 Romantic Hotel in London
#223 Family Hotel in London
#286 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $151 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Megaro 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're a curious chap/lady. You want to stay somewhere central, in the most resurgent, vibrant part of London, ideally opposite a couple of stations that can take you just about anywhere in the city, the country or the continent. We don't blame you. Welcome to Megaro. We are more than a place to stay in the very heart of London; it's a hub of London culture and your personal gateway into what is, in our opinion, one of the coolest places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Megaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megaro Hotel London
Hotel Megaro London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing