We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Exactly as advertised” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Megaro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Megaro
Ranked #115 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exactly as advertised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Clean, comfortable and awesome location. Easy access to tube. Great place to base yourself for a London visit. Rooms small but that is the London way. Staff are friendly and attentive. Would stay again next time.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbaTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,057
    729
    129
    55
    26
See reviews for
459
822
145
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here the night before our Eurostar journey, the terminal being within a few minutes stroll of the hotel. Our room overlooked a busy road but actually, with double glazing shut, noise wasn't a problem. The hotel is quirky and a bit different from the standard and we loved it. Excellent shower with Gilchrist and Soames toiletries including, unusually, good quality conditioner. Very unusually, there was proper milk (complimentary) in the fridge for making tea and coffee. Staff were lovely too. We might well stay there again on our next London trip even though location not brilliant for West End, theatre etc, because we liked it so much. Can't comment on breakfast as had to leave very early in morning.

Room Tip: I expect rooms at front on lower floors might be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suewebb61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We choose this hotel because of its location which was close to St. Pancras as we came from the Paris via Eurostar and didn’t want to negotiate the tube with our luggage. The hotel lobby is cute, location for us was perfect since it was close to the Kings Cross station and also close to one of the Big Bus bus stops that we used for our tour around London. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and nice. There was a coffee machine in the room and iron and ironing board is available if you need them. Our train back to Paris was not till later in the day so we left our luggage at the hotel after check out so we could do some last minute shopping.
I can’t find any fault with the hotel other than probably the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nurul_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We loved the hotel from the moment we walked through the door.
The staff were helpful and courteous and we were checked in in a very short time.Had to provide a passport but have had this before in the UK/Europe so was not overly surprised (unlike a previous reviewer).
The room itself was a Deluxe Loft and was a decent size, especially if it was just for a couple. We were a family group of 4 so it was a little tight but comfortable nonetheless. Bathroom was generous and clean.
Our room looked out over the back of the property into the rear of other properties but it was no problem for us - gave a little insight into how people lived. The room was very quiet and time in there was very pleasant.
Breakfast was included in our price and the food in the restaurant was sensational. The staff and cooks did a great job which prepared us for a long day of sightseeing. The Hollandaise eggs were exceptional.
The proximity to St Pancras/Kings Cross was one of the reasons for choosing the hotel and it is incredibly convenient from that point of view, as we travelled in from Heathrow on the Tube with luggage and hopped on the Eurostar when we left.
When we return to London I will definitely have this hotel top of mind when it comes to booking - couldn't think of anywhere better.
The kids loved the glass stick light feature at the bottom of the stairwell too. It is the little things that make the stay special sometimes....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David_C_C_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel was booked six months early....I had everything....Breakfast, Location, Air Conditioning, Wifi, etc. at a "reasonable" London price point. The HUGE problem was that the AC did not work, the windows could not be opened (beyond a crack), so that on a lovely 60 degree (Farenheit) night, the room was almost unbearable. I say "almost" because we were provided 2 fans and late at night the room became tolerable. The next a.m. it heated up early, but thankfully we had to leave for a train anyway.....No excuse for showing the room having AC if they have not worked for a month....My warning is....DO NOT STAY IN THE SUMMER OR LATE SPRING.....unless you can be assured the AC works....
Staff was wonderful....tried to help us find a room in other hotel (nothing available at reasonable cost or nearby), provided extra fan, adjusted our overnight charge, etc.....They were absolutely wonderful.....BUT THERE IS NO REASON FOR A HOTEL SITE OR HOTEL TO SHOW AC WHEN IT JUST IS NOT TRUE.

Room Tip: Ask if the air conditioning has been repaired if you are going in warm months
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElDorado96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Great experience! I'm in the apartment n.3 with my 9 years old son. He said: wow! It's fantastic. I agree with Elisa_e_Marco. When we'll come back in London, we'll book Megaro. Thanks to the receptionistes. Daniele & Matthew

Room Tip: I stay in the apartment in 7 Argyle square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We visited the Megaro for a short city break to London. Our room was really lovely, and the staff very friendly and helpful. Sky TV and WiFi in the room was very convenient after a knackering day of sightseeing. Decor is modern and chic - it all felt very special. The location is fantastic, and our room had a great view of St. Pancras. We ate in the hotel restaurant, and the food was delicious (mussels come recommended)! The bar downstairs had some exceptional cocktails, and had a cool cinema theme.

My only criticism was that the bathroom shower had no screen, and the bath was really deep and hard to get in and out of. But hey, it by no means stopped us from having a lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robpaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras
#109 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#242 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#262 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Megaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Megaro

Property: Hotel Megaro
Address: Belgrove Street | St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in London
#223 Romantic Hotel in London
#223 Family Hotel in London
#286 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Megaro 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're a curious chap/lady. You want to stay somewhere central, in the most resurgent, vibrant part of London, ideally opposite a couple of stations that can take you just about anywhere in the city, the country or the continent. We don't blame you. Welcome to Megaro. We are more than a place to stay in the very heart of London; it's a hub of London culture and your personal gateway into what is, in our opinion, one of the coolest places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Megaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megaro Hotel London
Hotel Megaro London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing