We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Didn't get what we paid for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Megaro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Megaro
Ranked #125 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Didn't get what we paid for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We pre-paid for this hotel and were guaranteed a Executive room with king bed (my husband is tall), and quiet side. We got a double bed on the noisy side. Had to take the mattress off the bed so my husband didn't have to sleep curled up.
The first night our room was extremely hot. The temperature has to be adjusted by staff. That was what we were told for two nights. Third day I was told we could adjust it in our room.
Not impressed and we cancelled our return stay here for later in the month.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet side if you are a light sleeper. Euston Rd. is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    689
    125
    53
    25
See reviews for
427
773
138
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Megaro is a modern, contemporary hotel which is ideally positioned for Euston (10 minute walk) and St Pancras (opposite). The hotel is clean, although our triple room was a little small and little worn in places. I could not recommend the Karpo restaurant for the more traditional of us who prefer a full English! Overall a very good hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Don't go a standard room if triple - very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kez_19682013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio de janeiro
Level Contributor
452 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

In front of St Pancras (Eurostar). Extremely friendly and efficient front desk. Greta bed and spectacular bath room. Would have been perfect is the maid hadn't entered our room without knocking, just to put milk in the fridge. Well above other hotels at same rate in London.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maperrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is across the street from St. Pancras rail station where we took the Eurostar early next day to Brussels. The hotel is quiet, clean, quite comfortable and stylishly decorated, but one of the best things is its adjoining restaurant, "Karpo." It is a real convenience and treat to have an excellent restaurant in your hotel, and our dinner of homemade pasta was terrific. We'd go back in a second.

Room Tip: Our room was on a busy street (3rd floor) but turned out to be quiet inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtotravel003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We booked Megaro for our 2 night stay in London.
This hotel was in a great location, the entrance to the tube was just outside the hotel which is great for exploring London.
We had been upgraded to a Superior Double room which was very spacious, modern and clean.
Only gripe was the room was a little noisey but this is due to the works at Kings Cross but not the hotels fault.
We had breakfast both mornings which was good with a nice choice of different things.
Staff were friendly and kept our bags for us when we checked in and out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Horsburgh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
104 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here to catch an early Eurostar - the location is perfect for that and the price was reasonable for London. We had a large room and bathroom. We opted for a room with a view rather than a "quiet" room. Although overlooking a busy road we weren't disturbed by the noise. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the British Library. The only downside was that the free wifi was unreliable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_and_Dora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights before taking eurostar to Paris.It is the perfect hotel for this.
The rooms a compact but perfectly formed and designed.The only downside was the surrounding area was a bit dicey but that is not the fault of the hotel rather Camden Council.The staff were great,very helpful and if you need to store luggage,use Access storage directly opposite hotel,much more reasonable than St.Pancras.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras
#120 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 4,590 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#243 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#263 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Megaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Megaro

Property: Hotel Megaro
Address: Belgrove Street | St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in London
#224 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Family Hotel in London
#287 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Megaro 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're a curious chap/lady. You want to stay somewhere central, in the most resurgent, vibrant part of London, ideally opposite a couple of stations that can take you just about anywhere in the city, the country or the continent. We don't blame you. Welcome to Megaro. We are more than a place to stay in the very heart of London; it's a hub of London culture and your personal gateway into what is, in our opinion, one of the coolest places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Megaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megaro Hotel London
Hotel Megaro London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing