We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Megaro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Megaro
Ranked #124 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Tranent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We booked Megaro for our 2 night stay in London.
This hotel was in a great location, the entrance to the tube was just outside the hotel which is great for exploring London.
We had been upgraded to a Superior Double room which was very spacious, modern and clean.
Only gripe was the room was a little noisey but this is due to the works at Kings Cross but not the hotels fault.
We had breakfast both mornings which was good with a nice choice of different things.
Staff were friendly and kept our bags for us when we checked in and out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Horsburgh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    689
    125
    53
    25
See reviews for
428
773
138
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
104 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here to catch an early Eurostar - the location is perfect for that and the price was reasonable for London. We had a large room and bathroom. We opted for a room with a view rather than a "quiet" room. Although overlooking a busy road we weren't disturbed by the noise. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the British Library. The only downside was that the free wifi was unreliable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_and_Dora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights before taking eurostar to Paris.It is the perfect hotel for this.
The rooms a compact but perfectly formed and designed.The only downside was the surrounding area was a bit dicey but that is not the fault of the hotel rather Camden Council.The staff were great,very helpful and if you need to store luggage,use Access storage directly opposite hotel,much more reasonable than St.Pancras.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were visiting from NY, so we wanted to stay at a hotel that was near an Underground station. The Megaro is seconds away from the stations at Kings Cross (a must visit if you're a Harry Potter fan) and St. Pancras, so even when it was raining, we were only steps from our hotel. We reserved a "family room" which consisted of a Queen bed and two trundle beds. The service was good; we had an issue with the AC and it was handled remotely(!) by the front desk. We brought adapters, but, of course, we plugged in a power strip that immediately blew out the lights. This was remedied very quickly and professionally (as if we weren't the first ones). We used the restaurant once for breakfast, and it was ok; I think we're just not used to the British style of food. I required a taxi to drop off my daughter at college, and one was ordered quickly. The downside was the wifi -- I think it was down for more than half of our week's stay. Close to McDonald's and Burger King (if that's you're preference). An excellent stay and I would return.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked St. Pancras, but it was mostly construction. There is an elevator (lift), so do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Perfect position. Great breakfast menu. Staff are very helpful, polite and professional. Room size and facilities were excellent. We couldn't fault any aspect of our stay. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Top marks to the management snd staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The location of this hotel is superb for St. Pancras, Kings' Cross as well as the London underground network.

We were greeted with a warm welcome from the check-in staff as soon as we walked into the lobby. The lobby was quite small and was dominated by a pair of ugly enormous "black sofas"(just a comment ). We were given a fairly small room which was very well equipped - coffee making machine, kettle, comfortable bed and good clean bathroom.
I would definite use this hotel again if I am in central London.

Room Tip: Probably rooms facing away from Euston Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Megaro Hotel is a gem. Nestled right on the corner of a very busy and popular intersection and across the road from kings cross.

We dropped off our luggage early (They have a special storage section for travelers) and spent the day walking/tubing around London/Westminster and Kings Cross.

All staff were competent and polite and very professional. The room service was quick and food very tasty. (Mac and Cheese, delicious!)

The standard room (to us) was more than standard, nice a spacious, large king sized bed, clean linen and goose/duck down pillows. Lovely chase lounge and plenty of storage and hanging space.

Large TV, with cable (ALL channels) and free wifi. Coffee machine in the room with quality coffee and plenty of tea, sugar and milk to last the night. Bathroom was fantastic, large shower and bath with an amazing shower head/pressure. Quality bath products and fluffy, large bath sheets/towels.

Overall this hotel is worth the cost, however I would recommend asking for either a room away from the main street or bring a set of earplugs as the sirens (ambulance and police) fly past the room every hour or more. (We had earplugs).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras
#120 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 4,595 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#244 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#265 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Megaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Megaro

Property: Hotel Megaro
Address: Belgrove Street | St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in London
#224 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Family Hotel in London
#287 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Megaro 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're a curious chap/lady. You want to stay somewhere central, in the most resurgent, vibrant part of London, ideally opposite a couple of stations that can take you just about anywhere in the city, the country or the continent. We don't blame you. Welcome to Megaro. We are more than a place to stay in the very heart of London; it's a hub of London culture and your personal gateway into what is, in our opinion, one of the coolest places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Megaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megaro Hotel London
Hotel Megaro London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing