We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Megaro is close to Kings Cross and St Pancras Train Stations”
Review of Hotel Megaro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Megaro
Ranked #126 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Megaro is close to Kings Cross and St Pancras Train Stations”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Positives. The room was well appointed with a lot of storage, a small fridge with a minibar assortment of drinks. A free bottle of water each day. The en suite bath was very spacious with high quality towels and bath soap, shampoo etc. However, the room showed its wear with the woodwork and wood floor appearing worn. The room was quiet and the bed was comfortable and we felt well rested each morning. The hotel is across the street from both Kings Cross and St Pancras train stations. St Pancras has a very good pub the Betjeman just on the Euston road side of the station.

The room lighting was very dim and the lights in the bath would go out periodically. The neighborhood was busy with some very seedy characters walking around. When the construction near Kings Cross is finished some of the dirt should disappear.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvhigdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teodora V, Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, May 8, 2017
Dear dvhigdon

Thank you very much for your lovely words and for taking the time to share your experience you had with us.
I am pleased that you found your room comfortable and beautifully decorated and that you enjoyed its details and amenities. Our rooms are indeed stunning with all rooms individually designed. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us.
Also, I am thrilled that you highlight the convenience of our central location. Indeed, our hotel is a short walk to Euston tube station and King’s Cross/ St Pancras right across the hotel. We are surrounded by shops and great eateries and many of London’s top sights are within short walking distance to our hotel.
We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Teodora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,314
    849
    154
    65
    34
See reviews for
597
971
170
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Excellent central location, spacious rooms (we changed rooms after 2nd night because of construction noise at train station across the street), excellent restaurant. Not a lot of services but we were only at the hotel for sleeping - 2 adults and 2 boys (11 and 9) - so didn't need a lot else. Front desk was very friendly and helpful when we asked for the room change. Too bad about the construction though because the view from our first room was great. I've stayed at too many hotels where they try to squeeze as much sleeping space into as little square footage as possible. It was nice, after a long day of walking and sightseeing, to return to a comfy space.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaBNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillian M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, May 7, 2017
Dear AndreaBNYC

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Though not the closest place to stay from everything, this hotel was perfect. With the Kings Cross metro right outside the hotel, it made it so simple to visit anywhere. We stayed in an apartment there and it was so spacious. We loved the modern feel to it, but still felt homey. It was so quiet there and was fun. The breakfast that is available for a fee and was wonderful. We tried something new everyday and loved how they fresh squeezed juices. The beds were comfortable, the room had so much space so you didnt feel compact at all, the bathrooms were a hoot, and the staff could not be more helpful and kind.

The one downfall about our room... THE SQUARE TOILET. Yep you heard me, a square toilet. It was so strange and awkward, but that wouldnt ruin anything for us. We made the best of it and joked around about it.

I would recommend staying here. It is not as loud or chaotic due to it being a little more north of everything, but there is wonderful food nearby as well as good bars. If you are traveling with bigger children, I would say get the apartment so you can have more space.

Room Tip: Apartments are bigger, apartment 2 and another one are the biggest (I think its like 7)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikayla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillian M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, May 7, 2017
Dear Mikayla M

Thank you very much for a wonderful five star review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located right on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. The Food and beverage team were delighted to read that you were impressed with the delicious breakfast served in the restaurant. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were visiting London with our family to celebrate my husband's birthday in mid August. I spoke with the General Manager, Carol, when booking our rooms and she was a delight and was eager to help make our weekend memorable with local advise and ensuring we had lovely family rooms. The rooms were large with sofa beds for the children, a real bonus was that beds and pillows were so comfy. The bathrooms were very large, modern and clean. We appreciated the little touches of the selection of loose teas, the coffee machine, fresh milk and water in the fridge, iron and iron board. There was a box of apples and sweets in the reception area which were available for guests to help themselves and were enjoyed by the children. The hotel was in an excellent location, close to both Euston and Kings X station and to the hop on hop off bus. When we visit London again we will certainly be staying at the Megaro Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillian M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, May 7, 2017
Dear Lynne T

Thank you very much for a wonderful five star review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, late August. I was very impressed with the room - 603, very big, great views. Our room also had a spare sofa bed, separate sofa, dressing table, tv, tea & coffee facilities, hair dryer, iron & board, mini bar/fridge, tv, large bathroom with toiletries.

Breakfast was included in our rate, the service and food was lovely. The breakfast area had an internal vertical garden. The eggs benedict were fab along with a free newspaper. There was a cocktail bar in the basement with lovely cocktails.

Location was fab for Kings Cross & Euston. I would definitely stay here again. Only minor negative was that due to proximity to train stations, the main road can be very noisy, other than that - excellent.

Room Tip: Room 603 was huge, but could be noisy if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larkhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillian M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, May 7, 2017
Dear Larkhall

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located right on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the room. The Food and beverage team were delighted to read that you were impressed with the delicious breakfast served in the restaurant. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

booked this hotel as a birthday treat for my 14yr oldand her friend. loved the look of the hotel on the outside ....... all brighly painted. wanted somewhere near to kings cross then i knew how to get around.
The inside was beautifully decorated, the reception staff were lovely and helpful, giving us an upgrade to a loft apartment. The apartment was fabulous, very chic boutique and the girls loved it, especially the square bath!
The restaurant was good offering very high quality food and something different to the normal full english breakfast, all the food was fresh, made from scratch and delicious.
I have stayed nearby in other hotels and B&Bs but this far outshines them will definately be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thrnss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillian M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, May 7, 2017
Dear thrnss


Thank you very much for a wonderful five star review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the apartment. We all appreciated the statement, "staff were lovely and helpful." This is very true we do have an amazing team at Hotel Megaro who are truly dedicated to giving the best service at all times. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is in a very practical area but understand it is a station area so it is a bit noisy, dirty and rough outside.
The hotel design is great and they have some really nice little ideas to make it different.
The rooms and the main area are in need of freshened up with mould and varnish peeling in bathroom, stain on furniture which is a shame when someone spend so much time creating a cool design...
The breakfast is good, it is in a little cafe like area of the hotel and the the food was great.
The hotel service is really what I think could be improved but don't stop there if you really don't expect your luggage to be carried for you down and upstairs.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank magaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillian M, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, May 7, 2017
Dear magaussie

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback following you stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. We were delighted to read that you were impressed by the hotel design and the breakfast that is served in our restaurant. On the other hand, we were sorry to read that there were a few points that were not up to standard during your stay with us. Thank you for bringing these to our attention, as without constructive feedback such as this, we cannot address areas in need of improvement. Please do accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused and be rest assured that we will be investigating further into this feedback. We do hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you to the Hotel Megaro were you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Kind regards
Lillian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#262 of 1,068 in London
1,746 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#252 of 1,068 in London
1,987 reviews
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#386 of 1,068 in London
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Megaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Megaro

Property: Hotel Megaro
Address: Belgrove Street | St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in London
#223 Family Hotel in London
#223 Romantic Hotel in London
#286 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Megaro 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're a curious chap/lady. You want to stay somewhere central, in the most resurgent, vibrant part of London, ideally opposite a couple of stations that can take you just about anywhere in the city, the country or the continent. We don't blame you. Welcome to Megaro. We are more than a place to stay in the very heart of London; it's a hub of London culture and your personal gateway into what is, in our opinion, one of the coolest places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Megaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megaro Hotel London
Hotel Megaro London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing