We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights in London”
Review of Hotel Megaro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Megaro
Ranked #130 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Two nights in London”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a group of 10 staying in London for 2 nights. We wanted to be close to the St. Pancras train station since we were taking the Eurostar to Paris early in the morning. I found this hotel after much research. It was very clean and spacious for our group. There were a few issues in one room with the window, air conditioning, and tv, but overall this was a great value for the money and the location. The other 2 rooms did not have any issues. The room was very clean and was spacious enough for a family of 3 to 5! The staff was very helpful with whatever information we needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsmeindl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreea S, Manager at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, May 16, 2017
Dear Guest

I am delighted that you found our location ideal for your stay. We are indeed a short walk away from King’s Cross/ St Pancras.
I can only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Megaro.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,326
    863
    157
    65
    35
See reviews for
608
984
172
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The location is absolutely brilliant, being across the road from St Pancras and Kings Cross stations.
On our second stay, we received a free upgrade as returning guests. The room and bathroom were quite spacious.

The front desk staff are extremely friendly and helpful...they certainly add to the stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarkko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teodora V, Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, May 8, 2017
Dear Jarkko S

Thank you very much for your lovely words and for taking the time to share your experience you had with us.
I am also very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and in particular that the team were very friendly, ultimately making your stay even more enjoyable and comfortable.
Also, I am thrilled that you highlight the convenience of our central location. Indeed, our hotel is a short walk to Euston tube station and King’s Cross/ St Pancras right across the hotel. We are surrounded by shops and great eateries and many of London’s top sights are within short walking distance to our hotel.

We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Teodora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Megaro is across Euston Road from St. Pancras and King's Cross railway stations, so it's especially convenient if you're taking Eurostar or one of the East Coast mainline or East Midlands services. It's an older building renovated in "Italian-moderne" -- very sleek interiors to the rooms; sometimes at the expense of the practical. I had an executive double: very large, bright, big windows; comfortable (but very soft) bed; large, well-lit and well laid out bathroom. But the main part of the room was poorly lit for work: overhead spotlights instead of table or desk lamps -- and no proper desk at all; instead there's a round table (also poorly lit for working).

I think the hotel also has rooms with more conventional desk/lamp fittings, so I'd recommend asking for one if you intend to use your laptop for work. Otherwise, very comfortable stay, and staff very helpful -- especially if you speak a little Italian...................

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bitterroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teodora V, Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, May 14, 2017
Dear Bitterroot

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the strength to improve and push ourselves forward giving our very best all the time.
That's why I would like to thank you for bringing all these points to our attention as without constructive feedback as this we can not face areas in need of improvement.
Also, I am pleased to hear that you found the location of our hotel ideal for your stay and also for travelling in and around London.
I am delighted to know that our staff was friendly and helpful making your stay even more pleasant.

Once more, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Now I can only hope to have the chance to welcome you back to hotel Megaro in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Teodora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Hotel was a little disappointing especially when one reads the Tripadvisor reviews.
The plus side-very friendly and helpful staff and close to transport hub of Kings Cross/St Pancras) This made travel easy as I was commuting to Cambridge everyday and also caught the Eurorstar to Paris.
The downside-rooms facing Euston Road are fairly noisy and the construction at Kings cross adds to this. Immediate area not the best with some kind of storage warehouse next door. Carpet dirty and stained and wood panelling around shower stained. Stayed in a Family room-kids beds are foldaway from wall and a bit creaky.
Overall, still a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Try not to face Euston Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffsmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sima P, receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, May 18, 2017
Dear Jeffsmax,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback following you stay with us at the Hotel Megaro.

We were sorry to read there was an administrative error with your booking. As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station.Thank you for bringing this error to our attention, as without constructive feedback such as this, we cannot address areas in need of improvement. Please do accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused and be rest assured that we will be investigating further into this feedback.


We do hope we will have a pleasure of welcoming you to the Hotel Megaro were you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Kind regarde
Sima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Megaro is beautiful: modern, elegant, graceful, thoughtfully designed. And Karpo, the restaurant (directly across the street from King's Cross station) has original terrific food. Real praise go to the people who work at the hotel. I had a problem printing a rail ticket, and the wonderful person at the desk patiently, thoughtfully, generously spent a lot of time and effort, not stopping until the ticket was printed.
For those of us who travel a lot, there are always glitches--things that should work but don't. The Megaro is an oasis of calm and help when you need it. And I love the living green wall in the restaurant. It speaks to the ethos of enterprise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania S, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, May 8, 2017
Hello dear Lissa P,

Thank you very much for giving us a FIVE star.
It is very much appreciated. Our aim is to ensure that all our guests have a memorable and pleasant stay with us. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the strength to keep on trying our very best.
We are pleased to hear that you found our rooms beautiful and comfortable and that you found our hotel facilities, as well as location across Kings cross/ St Pancras very convenient.

We can only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Megaro

Kind regards,

Tania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Megaro Hotel is in a good location, across the street from the St. Pancras and the King's Cross rail stations. The staff was friendly and helpful. The air conditioning did not function in the first room (we had to be moved). The room was clean and spacious. The shower had an incomplete enclosure, which allowed water to spray onto the wooden shower frame and wooden floor.

Room Tip: In hot weather, confirm that the room's AC will function.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sima P, receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, May 18, 2017
Dear

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro.
As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size of the room. This is very true we do have an amazing team at Hotel Megaro who are truly dedicated to giving the best service at all times.
Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Megaro very soon.

Kind regards
Sima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

REVIEWER POV: We take a day flight from the east coast of the U.S. (to minimize the jet lag/no sleep problem) then pick up the Eurostar the next morning to cross the channel. Not focused on the local neighborhood.

PROS:
1) If you are coming in from Heathrow on the Tube and picking up a morning Eurostar train at St. Pancras this is a perfect hotel
2) Perfectly nice place all around at a reasonable price

CONS:
1) None

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryInBrookline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania S, Front Office Agent at Hotel Megaro, responded to this review, May 8, 2017
Hello dear LarryInBrookline,

Thank you very much for giving us a FIVE star.
It is very much appreciated. Our aim is to ensure that all our guests have a memorable and pleasant stay with us. Your review means a lot to us and gives us the strength to keep on trying our very best.
We are pleased to hear that you found our rooms beautiful and comfortable and that you found our hotel facilities, as well as location across Kings cross/ St Pancras very convenient.

We can only hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Megaro

Kind regards,

Tania
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#259 of 1,069 in London
1,749 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#250 of 1,069 in London
2,000 reviews
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#395 of 1,069 in London
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Megaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Megaro

Property: Hotel Megaro
Address: Belgrove Street | St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Luxury Hotel in London
#223 Romantic Hotel in London
#223 Family Hotel in London
#286 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Megaro 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're a curious chap/lady. You want to stay somewhere central, in the most resurgent, vibrant part of London, ideally opposite a couple of stations that can take you just about anywhere in the city, the country or the continent. We don't blame you. Welcome to Megaro. We are more than a place to stay in the very heart of London; it's a hub of London culture and your personal gateway into what is, in our opinion, one of the coolest places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Megaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megaro Hotel London
Hotel Megaro London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing