We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Megaro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Megaro
Ranked #114 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Better than ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

A top quality hotel in a great location, close to the tube and over ground lines of Kings Cross and St Pancras. My choice if traveling on the Eurostar, especially if you have an early trip. Also so easy to get to central London by tube or bus. Not far from Camden markets. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Room service and housekeeping were excellent. Rooms are refurbished in a modern boutique style with plenty of wood and glass, beds were very comfortable. Coffee maker in room was a bonus. Some noise from street, sirens, but you are in a major city so to be expected. Recommended and definitely will be back there in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeezKneez333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,227
    799
    138
    61
    28
See reviews for
548
910
162
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Megaro Hotel is a modern hotel that has one very big plus: the location. Opposite King's Cross station, you can reach Oxford Street, the West End and Soho in just a few minutes. We stayed with five, so we were very happy to be able to book a room for 3. But be aware, the third bed is quite short. The hotel has very good amenities, such as free leaf tea in the room, an excellent rainshower and free wifi. Definitely a hotel to remember for my next visit to London!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IreneAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Room 311 stank of carpet freshner to the point where it made me feel sick and gave me a headache. I complained and the man from reception who also sniffed the room agreed it was OTT advised me to open the window. Unfortunately the window opened into the area above the kitchen extractor so all the was available to replace the Shake'nvac was warm greasy air. I ended up paying nearly £400 for 2 nights at the Megaro which would have been a lot for a room without the aftermath of a chemical war waged on either a sick/urine covered carpet or years of kitchen fumes. For the stay I experienced they should have paid me the £400. The wood around the bath was also mouldy and the sheets smelled of coco butter. Given that it was nigh on impossible to smell anything in the room whoever stayed the day before must have showered in the stuff. All-in a bit poor.

Handy for Eurostar though!

Room Tip: Call the day before you go to request a room without carpet freshner and don't stay in 311
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeadBrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

A warm welcome from a friendly receptionist --who could ask for more? A swift check in & up to our room on the top floor. On opening the room door what a lovely scent in the room--very different to many London rooms. We thought our room to be very spacious, with a large (long) bathroom--large bath & shower over. There seemed to be a lot of storage but we were only there for overnight so did not unpack. The selection of teas & coffees plus the carton of real milk was pleasing. The room looked over Kings Cross & there was work going on all through the night on the station forecourt & the road is busy 24 hours, but some noise doesnt worry us. We did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment. The British Library is a short stroll away & well worth a visit. Overall an excellent if short visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjdvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel really is in the perfect location for visiting london. Right opposite kings cross and with the mural on the building, really easy to find!
The room was lovely could not fault it. Only bug bear was the coffee machine, we only got decaff stocked up each day so had to always phone down to get proper coffee!! Also had no sugar one day but really not the end of the world! Not much info in the rooms for example it wasnt until the last day (stayed four nights) that someone put a breakfast menu in the room - which really annoyed me cos when we did have it the breakfast was gorgeous and really well priced for london!! We just assumed it would be really expensive like every other place in ldn! But no, nothing was over £10! Had i known we would have eaten there every morning instead of venturing out!
They do room service but no menu - there was a note however stating they were in the process of changing it. Also on the site i booked through it stated 24 hrs. We were caught out as apparently it stops at 11pm so didnt get to eat that night! It didnt say anywhere on their own site or in the rooms about serving hours
Overall a lovely stay and with a little more info it would have been perfect.
Thank you! We will definitely be using the megaro as our hub for our london trips!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JVickery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Used this hotel for `girlie` weekend, needing to be central & competetive in price. It wowed us! Shared 3 to family room, super beds, expresso machine & mini bar, as well as usual hairdryer, kettel, tea & coffee. Rooms really spacious. Staff just brilliant, nothing too much trouble. Continental breakfast very upmarket, freshly squeezed juice, homemade granola to die for, cheese, serrano ham coissant & toast served beautifully in a cosmopolitan style cafe environment. All for £40 a head, fantastic, only lost a star for noisey room, but we were central london....

Room Tip: Ask for quieter room at rear of hotel if light sleeper, but you will miss out on view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

What a wonderful hotel this is, i slept so well if i could have fitted the pillow into my rucksack i would have :p lovely room, clean, spacious so quiet , staff were friendly ,helpful . The breakfast was lovely i can't explain how much i enjoyed my stay here even though it was for the one night, would recomment it to anyone, we go to London alot and i will not stay anywhere but at the Megaro from now on.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greta h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#246 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#234 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Megaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Megaro

Property: Hotel Megaro
Address: Belgrove Street | St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Luxury Hotel in London
#223 Family Hotel in London
#223 Romantic Hotel in London
#286 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Megaro 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're a curious chap/lady. You want to stay somewhere central, in the most resurgent, vibrant part of London, ideally opposite a couple of stations that can take you just about anywhere in the city, the country or the continent. We don't blame you. Welcome to Megaro. We are more than a place to stay in the very heart of London; it's a hub of London culture and your personal gateway into what is, in our opinion, one of the coolest places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Megaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megaro Hotel London
Hotel Megaro London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing