We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Megaro
Nearby Hotels
$374
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$289
$246
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$287
$274
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$444
$387
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$203
$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$313
$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$143
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$312
$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$215
$159
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,731)
Filter reviews
2,731 results
Traveler rating
1,482
959
173
73
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,482
959
173
73
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsst pancraskings crossgreat locationeuston roadespresso machinepancras stationsky tvfamily roomgood sizedeluxe roomcomfortable bedstreet noisegreat roomexcellent hotelmini barstayed one nightcentral location
Filter
Updating list...
1,964 - 1,969 of 2,731 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The location of this hotel is obviously a strong point being opposite St Pancras and Kings Cross stations with their facilities and quick access to the tourist centres. We had a deluxe room which was compact, modern and comfortable with an espresso coffee machine and a variable spray type shower although the bath was rather small. The service at reception was friendly and efficient. We hadn't realised that the breakfast included in our rate was a continental breakfast but it was adequate and tasty. The restaurant is open to the public at breakfast time and the service was stretched on one of our days and it was a good job we weren't in a hurry.
All in all an excellent choice especially if you can get a good deal on prices

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brodders53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sima P, receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

Dear brodders53

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro.
As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention quality of the room. This is very true we do have an amazing team at Hotel Megaro who are truly dedicated to giving the best service at all times.
Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Megaro very soon.

Kind regards
Sima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Railbookers booked this hotel for us for one night on our way to Paris and Italy. It is in a fantastic location as it's right across the road from King's Cross and St . Pancras so no taxis or undergrouind. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was large with plenty of storage space for a longer holiday and a very modern bathroom. Our room was right on the road looking over to both stations but we slept soundly even though it's a busy road. We met another couple in the lift who had stayed at the posh St Pancras hotel across the road and they said the Megaro was nicer and better value for money. My husband and I will stay here again on our next trip .

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front if you think the road noise will bother you but personally it didn't bother us one bit.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sima P, receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

Dear maureen g,

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your recent stay with us at the Hotel Megaro.
As you have mentioned we are ideally located on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel. This is very true we do have an amazing team at Hotel Megaro who are truly dedicated to giving the best service at all times.
Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel Megaro very soon.

Kind regards
Sima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My mother and I stayed here 9/15-22/2012 and found the hotel to be very nice, and the location cannot be beat for transportation. There is a tube stop directly outside the hotel, and the St. Pancras and King's Cross stations are directly across the street from the hotel. This made traveling on First Capital Connct to/from Gatwick Airport and on EuroStar to/from Paris very easy. The room was large, quiet, and very clean, with very comfortable beds, and also had a safe. The only drawback was that lighting was very poor in the room, with only one dim overhead light and two tiny lights over the bed that did not even provide enough light to read by. The room was very dark overall. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The only item of concern was that they had no record of our reservation when we checked in. Upon showing them an e-mail confirmation for our reservation they quickly found us a room. Also, when we went to enter or room for the first time, a housekeeper stopped us and told us we could not go into the room that early (9:30 a.m.), although we had paid for an extra night to ensure early check-in after arriving from our overnight flight. Another housekeeper came up and the two argued, and the second one told us to go on in. We did so, and a few moments later the first housekeeper came running into our room and took some items out of the refrigerator. She left, then came right back in again and started rummaging around on the desk. I asked her if there was a problem and she indicated that she could not speak English and then left. We unpacked and then decided to take a nap,and after going to sleep were awakened by loud voices directly outside our room. We opened the door and several of the housekeeping staff were standing directly outside our door having a heated argumnt. When they saw us the apologize and left the area. Overall, the hotel is a great place to stay in a great location, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCTE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sima P, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

Dear BCTE4

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located right on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the apartment. We all appreciated the statement, "staff was very friendly and helpful." This is very true we do have an amazing team at Hotel Megaro who are truly dedicated to giving the best service at all times. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Very good. The fact that this hotel is right on the door step of King's Cross Station is brilliant. My room was very good and the shower/bathroom was very nice. There is a small bar in the hotel which is very cosy but I doubt that it would get very busy. Overall, all the hotel was really comfortable and would choose it again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Fionntantoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sima P, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

Dear Fionntantoner

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located right on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the apartment. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We (my mother, my sister and myself) stayed here for one night in a family room. We chose this hotel because we were visiting Leavesden Studio's and we wanted to be close to St Pancras and Euston station. The second day we were going shopping, but the Tube will do the trick to get to the centre.

Our room was a family room, where 4 adults could sleep. We had room 202. The room was very clean and spacious. We had a room on the side of the hotel, which means we were on the busy side, overlooking the station. A lot off traffic. But to be honest, we weren't really bothered by any noise. Of course, at night when it's really quiet and an ambulance passes, you can hear it. Beds are good. Bathroom was very clean. The bath was a little high to get in. You get enough towels etc.

Staff were very friendly. Check-in went smooth. We arrived early and could leave our luggage there. The next day, when we went into the city and wanted to come back for our luggage when we had to get to the Eurostar, there wasn't a problem either with leaving our bags.

Location is perfect if you're in London and will need public transport a lot. St Pancras and Kings Cross are in the same street. Euston Station is a 10minute walk. Right in front of the hotel you can find an entrance for the tube. The second day we took the tube to Oxford Street (stop Mable Arch) and that took us 2 different lines and about 10minutes.

I don't know if the restaurant is any good, we didn't go there. We didn't have breakfast there either. There are a lot of shops, restaurants in the neighbourhood. All the big food chains are there: Starbucks, McDonalds, Burger King, Pizza express, Prêt à manger...

We chose this hotel because of it's location and price. Location was perfect for us, but even if you're visiting London and only need the tube, the location is pretty good too. You will need the tube anyway when you stay in London and this hotel is still a little cheaper then hotels in the centre (although not a lot, we stayed at the Park Plaza Westminster and that was about the same I think...). But we had bad luck that the night we stayed there, there was some kind of parade in downtown London (the Victory parade for the end of the Olympics) and that we were late booking/searching for a hotel, so this was the cheapest (we payed £240/ night, 3 adults, no breakfast). I could imagine that if I was early and the prices for Park Plaza and the Megaro were the same, I would book the first... Not for the location, but because the Park Plaza has that little 'extra something'. While this hotel is very good, but basic.

Conclusion: Go here if you don't mind staying a little bit outside the centre, if you need public transport a lot & if you want to be sure of a good and basic hotel and if it's that little bit cheaper than other hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julz_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sima P, Head Receptionist at Hotel Megaro, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

Dear Julz_BE

Thank you very much for a wonderful review following your stay with us at the Hotel Megaro. As you have mentioned we are ideally located right on the door step of St Pancras and Kings Cross Station. The whole team was overjoyed to read that you were pleased with our hotel with special mention to the size and quality of the apartment. Once again thank you very much for a lovely review, we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Lillian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews