We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smart hotel, very convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Megaro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Megaro
Ranked #114 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Smart hotel, very convenient location”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The location of this hotel is obviously a strong point being opposite St Pancras and Kings Cross stations with their facilities and quick access to the tourist centres. We had a deluxe room which was compact, modern and comfortable with an espresso coffee machine and a variable spray type shower although the bath was rather small. The service at reception was friendly and efficient. We hadn't realised that the breakfast included in our rate was a continental breakfast but it was adequate and tasty. The restaurant is open to the public at breakfast time and the service was stretched on one of our days and it was a good job we weren't in a hurry.
All in all an excellent choice especially if you can get a good deal on prices

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brodders53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,226
    799
    138
    61
    28
See reviews for
548
909
162
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
inverness
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Railbookers booked this hotel for us for one night on our way to Paris and Italy. It is in a fantastic location as it's right across the road from King's Cross and St . Pancras so no taxis or undergrouind. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was large with plenty of storage space for a longer holiday and a very modern bathroom. Our room was right on the road looking over to both stations but we slept soundly even though it's a busy road. We met another couple in the lift who had stayed at the posh St Pancras hotel across the road and they said the Megaro was nicer and better value for money. My husband and I will stay here again on our next trip .

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front if you think the road noise will bother you but personally it did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
175 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My mother and I stayed here 9/15-22/2012 and found the hotel to be very nice, and the location cannot be beat for transportation. There is a tube stop directly outside the hotel, and the St. Pancras and King's Cross stations are directly across the street from the hotel. This made traveling on First Capital Connct to/from Gatwick Airport and on EuroStar to/from Paris very easy. The room was large, quiet, and very clean, with very comfortable beds, and also had a safe. The only drawback was that lighting was very poor in the room, with only one dim overhead light and two tiny lights over the bed that did not even provide enough light to read by. The room was very dark overall. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The only item of concern was that they had no record of our reservation when we checked in. Upon showing them an e-mail confirmation for our reservation they quickly found us a room. Also, when we went to enter or room for the first time, a housekeeper stopped us and told us we could not go into the room that early (9:30 a.m.), although we had paid for an extra night to ensure early check-in after arriving from our overnight flight. Another housekeeper came up and the two argued, and the second one told us to go on in. We did so, and a few moments later the first housekeeper came running into our room and took some items out of the refrigerator. She left, then came right back in again and started rummaging around on the desk. I asked her if there was a problem and she indicated that she could not speak English and then left. We unpacked and then decided to take a nap,and after going to sleep were awakened by loud voices directly outside our room. We opened the door and several of the housekeeping staff were standing directly outside our door having a heated argumnt. When they saw us the apologize and left the area. Overall, the hotel is a great place to stay in a great location, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCTE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Very good. The fact that this hotel is right on the door step of King's Cross Station is brilliant. My room was very good and the shower/bathroom was very nice. There is a small bar in the hotel which is very cosy but I doubt that it would get very busy. Overall, all the hotel was really comfortable and would choose it again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Fionntantoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gistel, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We (my mother, my sister and myself) stayed here for one night in a family room. We chose this hotel because we were visiting Leavesden Studio's and we wanted to be close to St Pancras and Euston station. The second day we were going shopping, but the Tube will do the trick to get to the centre.

Our room was a family room, where 4 adults could sleep. We had room 202. The room was very clean and spacious. We had a room on the side of the hotel, which means we were on the busy side, overlooking the station. A lot off traffic. But to be honest, we weren't really bothered by any noise. Of course, at night when it's really quiet and an ambulance passes, you can hear it. Beds are good. Bathroom was very clean. The bath was a little high to get in. You get enough towels etc.

Staff were very friendly. Check-in went smooth. We arrived early and could leave our luggage there. The next day, when we went into the city and wanted to come back for our luggage when we had to get to the Eurostar, there wasn't a problem either with leaving our bags.

Location is perfect if you're in London and will need public transport a lot. St Pancras and Kings Cross are in the same street. Euston Station is a 10minute walk. Right in front of the hotel you can find an entrance for the tube. The second day we took the tube to Oxford Street (stop Mable Arch) and that took us 2 different lines and about 10minutes.

I don't know if the restaurant is any good, we didn't go there. We didn't have breakfast there either. There are a lot of shops, restaurants in the neighbourhood. All the big food chains are there: Starbucks, McDonalds, Burger King, Pizza express, Prêt à manger...

We chose this hotel because of it's location and price. Location was perfect for us, but even if you're visiting London and only need the tube, the location is pretty good too. You will need the tube anyway when you stay in London and this hotel is still a little cheaper then hotels in the centre (although not a lot, we stayed at the Park Plaza Westminster and that was about the same I think...). But we had bad luck that the night we stayed there, there was some kind of parade in downtown London (the Victory parade for the end of the Olympics) and that we were late booking/searching for a hotel, so this was the cheapest (we payed £240/ night, 3 adults, no breakfast). I could imagine that if I was early and the prices for Park Plaza and the Megaro were the same, I would book the first... Not for the location, but because the Park Plaza has that little 'extra something'. While this hotel is very good, but basic.

Conclusion: Go here if you don't mind staying a little bit outside the centre, if you need public transport a lot & if you want to be sure of a good and basic hotel and if it's that little bit cheaper than other hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julz_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This boutique hotel is located right across the street from King's Cross/St. Pancras. It is a nice, stylish hotel that offers excellent standard, very spacious rooms (for London) and can serve a a great base for any London trip. There is no gym or pool though, after all, it's not a resort.

I stayed here a full week in July 2012. The rooms have a good standard, the windows are very sound-proof, the beds are comfortable, everything works. Nice touch: They offer free tap and sparkling water in the minibar, refilled daily.

The bathrooms are the kicker. Any London traveller will tell you horror stories about baths in London hotels. This is a romance. Even the design is great.

Service is excellent, receptionists are responsive and friendly, maid service is invisible yet tidy, room service quick and unpretentious.

Location also is top-notch. Not only the stations right around the corner (literally), but also shops, restaurants, cafes, bars, whatever you want, is pretty much in walking distance.

Pros: Location, rooms, baths.

N/A: Restaurant, general size (public areas seem a little cramped).

Cons: No gym or pool, a bit pricy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HDYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Have stayed in many hotels & apartments in London. This is the best so far in terms of room, price, staff, location etc. (Stayed twice in Aug 2012, second time unplanned!) All the staff I met were extremely friendly, efficient and helpful. Next time in London will probably be with partner & young children - looked at apartments - quiet & well equipped a block away - will definitely book. Restaurant & bar also good. Thank you. Sue

Room Tip: Side street is better on the noise front but am a notoriously bad sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEHZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#246 of 1,088 in London
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#234 of 1,088 in London
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Megaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Megaro

Property: Hotel Megaro
Address: Belgrove Street | St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Luxury Hotel in London
#223 Family Hotel in London
#223 Romantic Hotel in London
#286 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Megaro 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're a curious chap/lady. You want to stay somewhere central, in the most resurgent, vibrant part of London, ideally opposite a couple of stations that can take you just about anywhere in the city, the country or the continent. We don't blame you. Welcome to Megaro. We are more than a place to stay in the very heart of London; it's a hub of London culture and your personal gateway into what is, in our opinion, one of the coolest places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Megaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megaro Hotel London
Hotel Megaro London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing