We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware Room 014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Ranked #300 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beware Room 014”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We booked this rooms via Laterooms, upon checking in we were told that we were receiving a complimentary upgrade to an Exceutive Room so naturally our expectations were raised. We were duly allocated Room 014 in the basement, too be fair the room itslef was fine, very big, smartly furnished, clean but not really a view at all. The problems began at 06.30 the next morning when all of a sudden we were woken by the sounds of an "army" stamping around above us and other noises being transmitted through the floor, light fittings vibrating and air conditioning ductwork rattling, it was horrendous. We eventually admitted defeat, got up and rang Reception to complain, too be fair they were good, told us to pack our bags, leave them in the room and by the time we came back in the evening we would have been moved and again this happened so no problem. Our issue is the fact that this hotel has had the same complaint made numerous times in the past either on here or on other review sites so why do they persist in allocating this room without first trying to sort the issue out, they are simply creating a situation where people will complain and give the hotel negative feedback, seems a strange way to run the place. Our replacement room was on the First Floor with a garden view and apart form half the wall lights not working and the TV remote needing new batteries was fine. so overall on the plus side a great location, nice and quiet yet only minutes from the hustle and bustle, friendly staff, we didnt take breakfast at £20 a go which is a bit steep by our reckoning even by London prices, there are plenty of little cafes or the usual chain coffee shops close by if thats what you want.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement rooms and opt for a garden view if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brumtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    331
    101
    44
    21
See reviews for
141
394
41
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I treated my mum to a trip to London for her 60th , the hotel was lovely but it is getting a little tired looking in the hallways. The room was huge with two double beds and a large window overlooking the gardens at the back, the bathroom again was large but again a little tired. The staff were very helpful, the location was a little bit out of the way but that suited us as my mum hates noise at night. Our stay at the hotel was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed at the Beauchamp for 3 nights as part of a family trip to London. The welcome on arrival was warm and courteous whilst at the same time being very professional. The hotel is ideally situated for visits to the British Museum (5 mins away ) Covent Garden and the West End . Our rooms on the 2 nd floor were of a good standard with all the necessary facilities. Continental breakfast was included in our room rate and was excellent . Again the staff were extremely efficient whilst at the same time being friendly and helpful. Could highly recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skipper47_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a long weekend in London, booking hotels a bit late. Having booked an "executive room", we were disappointed when finding out that the room was in the basement. With a view straight into a floodlit concrete wall. However, explaining this to the employees they assured us they would do all in their power to find us a room upstairs the following day. Returning from sightseeing and shopping, we opened the door and found out they upgraded us to a suite! Plenty of magazines in the room, spacious, and with a separate wing for closet and wardrobe. A few things made a full score impossible: No fridge in the room, and having wifi costs an additional £10 per 24h. Nevertheless, a hotel to recommend!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank oaurlien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in August as part of a package purchased through Expedia. Bloomsbury is my favourite place to stay when in London and this hotel is in the heart of it. It is located on a quiet street that has many boutique hotels.

The staff at the hotel was outstanding and friendly. Our room was a decent size for London and the finishing touches in the room were quite nice. The bathroom was fairly large for a London hotel and the fixtures in it were well done.

The location of this hotel was amazing. At one end of the street it is located on is Russell Square and at the other is Bloomsbury Square. It is an area of London where many public squares exist and after a day out touristing, it is nice to leave the Tube and have a nice sit in a public green space. Two Tube stopes are nearby(Russell Square and Holborn) and the two lines they serve(Central and Piccadilly) will get one close to most of the major tourist sites in London. High Holborn street is a block away with shopping and great pubs(Princess Louise). The British Museum is also a 3 minute walk from the hotel and it is quite a nice walk to get to Leicester Square, Covent Garden, and Trafalgar Square(all within 30 minutes by foot). Truth be known, if one was up for it, they could walk to most of the major tourist areas in London from the hotel(Westminster, Buckingham Palace, Piccadilly Circus).

This has become my go to hotel for staying in London and the affordability of the hotel that came with the Expedia package was amazing.

As a side note on London travel, hop on a Bus Route 15 for a cheap bus tour of major sites. head to the top level of the bus and have a wonderful tourist experience. It is a nice way to spend some time off your feet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The-MDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have stayed in Grange Hotels many times, mostly for the central location rather than the rooms that are quite small and perfunctory. However on our recent delay due to no trains running due to a storm in the South East, we were delayed by a day and rang the hotel to inform them as soon as we were able. They insisted on their cancellation policy and when we arrived, the first thing they did was to charge us for the night we had missed. We spoke to the general manager who was also dismissive and when we wrote to the Managing Director, all we received back was the fact they could not afford to lose money from clients. The theatres and restaurants all honoured our tickets and bookings and showed good will but not Grange Hotels! We will not be returning!

Room Tip: Most rooms are tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthumberlandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We asked to not have a basement due to reading previous reviews, but unfortunately we got there late and there was nothing else. The room was clean, tidy, had a comfortable bed and was well maintained, if a little small. Unfortunately it was also stuffy and hot which the AirCon couldn't cure. You could open the windows a bit which helped, but only while you were in the room and awake due to access to the room and the noise from the air conditioning outside. From early in the morning even with earplugs the footsteps from the food area upstairs prevent any sleep, so not a great night sleep. Took a while to check in as both members of staff appeared to be needed to help a simple customer issue, but the night staff were helpful. If you can get there early, probably good, if not avoid.

Room Tip: If the only room you can get is in the basement, don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodinblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#506 of 1,069 in London
537 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#360 of 1,069 in London
2,092 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange White Hall Hotel
Grange White Hall Hotel
#588 of 1,069 in London
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#441 of 1,069 in London
1,043 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#572 of 1,069 in London
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Beauchamp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Beauchamp Hotel

Property: Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Address: 24-27 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#209 Family Hotel in London
#220 Luxury Hotel in London
#266 Romantic Hotel in London
#311 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Beauchamp Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange Beauchamp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beauchamp Hotel London
Beauchamp Hotel London
Grange Beauchamp Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing