We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Ranked #291 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet and convenient”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Visited with my husband for one night to go to the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden. Chose The Beauchamp after a lot of research on TripAdvisor and were very pleased. Hotel book in was very easy and room was clean and pleasant with a fabulous view of the lovely, peaceful gardens, as requested when we booked online.
As we hoped, it was an easy 10-15 minute stroll through pleasant, well-lit, safe-feeling streets to get to the Opera House. Then in the morning it was a couple of minutes' walk around the corner to visit the British Museum. Self-service buffet continental breakfast had great variety, although not always the highest quality, eg cheap ham slices and cheap juice, however, it was perfectly adequate for us and you could eat as much as you liked.
Very happy with stay apart from minor irritation of the hum from the basement (air-con I assume), which spoiled the tranquil atmosphere when we had the windows open. The fact that it was audible at night demonstrates just what a wonderfully quiet location this is - you can hardly believe you are in central London.
Staff were pleasant and were happy to keep our bags in the morning after we checked out whilst we visited the British Museum. Also were quick to be helpful print out a map to give us directions where to go the previous evening.
Very enjoyable, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GabbyGabriella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    324
    98
    43
    20
See reviews for
137
386
39
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed the night of 23-24 May 2013 at The Beauchamp, latest addition to the Grange chain of hotels. We have already stayed in their hotels the Strathmore, Blooms, and St Paul's.

St Paul's is their flagship, right next to the cathedral, and deserves its 5-star rating. We would stay there again any time if we could get the same discounted rate!

Strathmore - never again until some big changes are made.

We were interested by the fact that it used to be the town house of the Earl of Strathmore, father of the late Queen Mother. This showed in the fact that our first bedroom was up in the former servants' quarters on the top floor, with small windows that were too high to actually see out of. Quite claustrophobic. The room was changed, so a tick there, but breakfast was hardly worth eating. Supposedly Full English, it had most of the elements but nothing was freshly prepared, but left in large open rectangular metal containers. Dried up scrambled egg, bacon either dried up or greasy... No thanks, Grange.

Blooms has been consistently good and we have stayed there several times. Its larger rooms are worth the extra and its L-shaped family room includes a comfortable sofa bed; plus REAL breakfasts cooked to order, and nicely cooked too.

We would have stayed again at Blooms on this occasion but it was full, so in the parallel street we went to The Beauchamp instead.

Location is therefore as good as Blooms, and the staff were just as nice. The public rooms were attractively done and the bedrooms had clearly had some money spent on them, with a very comfortable bed in ours (room 007 - nice number, as the barman said). BUT the bathrooms were from another era; the fan did not work; the kettle did not work, so no early morning tea; and as for breakfast, most of it was cooked to order and was good - but sadly let down by scrambled eggs that had clearly been cooked an hour earlier. Plus, room 007 was facing the street, meaning that people were walking past on the same level about 12 feet away, and curtains had to be closed throughout our stay.

So, for preference back to Blooms any time.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenHowarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed one night in the Beauchamp having booked an executive double and asked for a quiet room. I arrived around 9.30am, slightly jetlagged, to check my bags and if possible get an earlier check-in than the published 3pm. The hotel reception was relatively efficient, but not very welcoming, and the best early check-in I was offered was 2.30pm.

When I finally got into my room I was impressed with the size but that is about all. The bathroom was tired and dull, definitely not up to the standard of the room. I was told it was one of the best rooms in the hotel and yet the carpet was stained and layout not very ergonomic. The room was also overlooking the main street on the first floor and thus hardly 'quiet' as I had requested.

Overall for the price I paid, and in comparison with other hotels in the same area that I have stayed in, I'm not sure I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul2496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Difficult to get a reasonably priced hotel over a bank holiday weekend, this place was expensive but better than some others, and proved to be rather nice! Modern stylish bedroom /bathroom,, plenty of space. Nice lounge area, helpful staff. We ate dinner there one night and the food was not great, wouldn't eat there again but other than that no other criticisms! Quiet street, slept like a log and Russell Square tube station is 2 mins walk round the corner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrToots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I arrived at Heathrow without a hotel reservation and found The Beauchamp through the hotel information/reservation desk just outside of baggage claim. When I arrived at the hotel which is on a quiet street, they had upgraded me to one of their nicest rooms which was huge and beautiful. I have stayed in London before and was all prepared to have a tiny dark room at a huge price and was thrilled with my deluxe windfall. While one subway stop from St. Pancras, the next day I walked to the Eurostar and it took only 15 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay, nice clean hotel in a lovely quiet street in London; the room was sizeable and bed extremely comfy. The hotel is ideal for Euston, the British Museum and Covent Garden

My only complaint is that I couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frogonastick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

If you want a decent night sleep one is better off with travel lodge or premier inn. This is not by any standard a 4 star hotel! I have made a formal complaint which was ignored and neglected and eventually spoke to the GM who was very defensive and obstructive. This overnight stay was before a crucial interview, after made to wait at reception while a 'phonecall' I was placed in a tiny room that later on discovered to be under the bar and kitchen. Room 013 under ground with a view of the ventilator. All night I could not sleep because the wooden planks have worn out of use and were so creaky and squeeky all night and even after complaining multiple times stating that they will address this I was once again ignored. The towels were old, the trouser press was broken off the wall. Overall this was a terrible stay by all standards and I shall pursue to formal advisory as this is unjust to be a functional 4 star hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OMoussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#496 of 1,067 in London
526 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#345 of 1,067 in London
2,062 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#596 of 1,067 in London
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange White Hall Hotel
Grange White Hall Hotel
#584 of 1,067 in London
627 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#575 of 1,067 in London
306 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Grange Buckingham Hotel
#587 of 1,067 in London
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Beauchamp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Beauchamp Hotel

Property: Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Address: 24-27 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#209 Family Hotel in London
#214 Luxury Hotel in London
#266 Romantic Hotel in London
#311 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Beauchamp Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange Beauchamp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beauchamp Hotel London
Beauchamp Hotel London
Grange Beauchamp Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing