We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a mixed visit - food good, service is not”
Review of The Prince Regent

The Prince Regent
Ranked #16,383 of 22,834 Restaurants in London
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a mixed visit - food good, service is not”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Ok, if you are in the neighbourhood and hungry or indeed there on a Monday night, then it is worth eating there. Really good value £11 for two courses and reasonable choice on Monday. It would be on the lower end of gastronomic pub standard. The service is poor though and inattentive, you feel as if the staff aren't listening and I had to wait a while for my main course. The men's toilets are disgusting and really gave me the creeps. So, don't go to the toilet. Order a main course and you will be ok, just.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ducking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    11
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
“A lovely local”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Moved to Herne Hill last year and am a huge fan of this pub, great grub, decent range of guest ales and they always make us, and more importantly (given it's opposite the park) our dogs, welcome.

Would recommend for a dinner or just a few cheeky beers.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marnie79London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not exactly welcoming”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Visited on a wet Sunday around 3. Seats all taken by diners so we stood. After a while the table near us emptied so we took the seats. The waiter came over to tell us that the table was reserved. Ok, fine - we'll sit here until the new customers come, then make way. That's how it works in every single pub I've ever been in. We were told quite bluntly that we couldn't sit there, that we needed to move now. As we were moving, two women got the same treatment.

It could just have been a bad day, and the barman was friendly enough, but it definitely didn't make me want to go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Complacent!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Used to be a big fan and a frequent customer but I think this pub is a victim of success. The food is good and the atmosphere is good but that is more to do with the customers than the staff. The toilets are filthy, the bar staff and waiting staff are good but the manager is rude and unfriendly. It will be a while before I go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SMHasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Used to be great avoid”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

It's a shame as this you to be my local but a change in the management has really dragged this place down. The manager is rude and grumpy and walks around such a sullen face, get out of hospitality if you don't like it! They were unaccommodating when we turned up for a spot of lunch and the food is very average. Gone are the days of when they offered an interesting gastropub menu. My friends drink was collected and it was nearly half full. When we addressed the issue with staff we were offered the glass back which was now dirty from having been placed at the bottom of empty glasses, disgusting we could have been offered a replacement drink in return. I hope something here changes soon, in the meantime I'll be going elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prince Regent also viewed

 

Been to The Prince Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing