We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nobody knew where it was- but worth finding”

The Hummingbird Bakery
Ranked #20 of 277 Bakeries in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: South Kensington
Worcester
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nobody knew where it was- but worth finding”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Called by on a wet Monday and had a very welcome hot cup of coffee and black bottom cupcake. It was my birthday so we were on a bit of a pilgrimage from the West Midlands.
We did have trouble locating the cafe and when we asked a couple of London tourist guides outside the V&A they had never heard of it!!!!

But the cupcake was delicious, moist and very chocolatey.

Only down side they sell their cookbooks at RRP which was a shame as I would have loved to purchase a couple whilst there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kazseptember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    111
    43
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sillyhilly77
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Cupcakes Ever!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

If you like Cupcakes please go and try these. I'm not even a cake lover and thought their red velvet cupcakes was amazing. Really lovely!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sillyhilly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect treat”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Brought my 16 yr old niece to Hummingbird in South Kensington for a birthday treat. She has dreamt of visiting Hummingbird for two years and was not disappointed. Cupcakes of all kinds and a lot of cakes too. We finally agreed on three cakes, rainbow cake, american chokolate cake and a red velvet cup cake. Way too much for two people as the cake slices were huge! Luckily it was a bit expensive, otherwise we probably would have had way too much cake. Great taste and also great service. Highly recommendable!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cupcakes !!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great place for sweet cupcakes lovers :)
Beautiful, colorful and so tasty treats.
Everything we tried was very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elodie50a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best cupcakes in London!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Hands down I have never tasted cupcakes quite like those in Hummingbird so much so that I have now convinced myself that it doesn't get any better! Flavours that are a must try are: blackbottom and vanilla with chocolate.

A word of caution though… If you're going to be collecting these to take away (as I did a few days ago) and the weather is warm (as it has been) I'd advice against it completely…. They started to melt almost instantaneously which led to 9 of 12 of my cupcakes toppling to one side and ruining the shape.. Granted I managed to salvage a few but it became a rather messy affair.

In all, awesome cupcakes. And it you haven't been yet, you are without a shadow of a doubt missing out greatly!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RakhiB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hummingbird Bakery also viewed

 

Been to The Hummingbird Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing