We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Billy Elliot The Musical
Ranked #14 of 343 Concerts & Shows in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Now celebrating ten extraordinary years, Billy Elliot the Musical has won the hearts of millions since it opened in London's West End, becoming one of the most beloved, award-winning shows on stage today. Set in a northern mining town, against the background of the 1984/'85 miners' strike, Billy Elliot is the inspirational story of a young boy's struggle against the odds to make his dreams come true. The story follows Billy's journey as he stumbles out of the boxing ring and into a ballet class where he discovers a passion for dance that inspires his family and whole community and changes his life forever. Featuring a timeless score by Elton John, sensational dance and a powerful story that has captivated audiences around the world, Billy Elliot the Musical is a funny, uplifting and spectacular theatrical experience that will stay with you forever. Now seen by over 10 million people worldwide, there's never been a better time to see Billy Elliot the Musical.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had an amazing time, show was excellent, top quality. Highly recommend it, was the highlight of our weekend in London.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aoife2327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,008
    414
    137
    64
    37
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Parental Guidance Definitely Required”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Hmmmmm, I don't really know what to say about this one. There were moments of brilliance (the fabulous choreography with the chairs during the Grandmother's song, the touching songs between Billy and his mother, the clever staging, and, of course, the two young performers playing Billy and Micheal), BUT there were moments where I was bored, moments that made me cringe, and moments where I felt downright uncomfortable. We took our children, aged 8 and 12, but in my opinion the language is far too strong for an 8 year old and it made me feel uncomfortable. Don't get me wrong, I'm not a prude, but I just felt the bad language was gratuitous and unnecessary. The piece would be just as powerful without it, or at least with it toned down a little.
It's a good show, but I wouldn't go back, and definitely wouldn't recommend it to families with younger children.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank EssexGirlAtHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pure Brilliance for all the Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

A fabulous Matinee performance which absolutely made our London break; the dancing, singing and character choce was first class and my son was delighted by this musical. We intend to do alot more of this sort of of thing in future as a result.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A London original not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Take the time to see this awesome show!

In August of 2013 the construction made the theater difficult to find, so do yourself a favor and lay eyes on the place while you are out and about during the day. It is just near the Victoria station, but if you are unfamiliar with the area, it is easy to get turned around.

The theater is a fantastic, historic venue. However, it is old, and the seats are TINY and close together giving tall people NO LEG ROOM. So, if that may be an issue for you - book early, and on the isle!

A nice touch is refreshments stands set up all over the theater during intermission, making a trip to the lobby unnecessary!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ESWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Loved this production. We decided just a few days before to try to get tickets for another show. We were so lucky to get these seats. The music and dancing are outstanding. Three Billy's...not sure how the other two can be as talented as 'our Billy'. But they must be to be in this role. Note that the seats in the Dress Circle are not so comfortable, but you are elevated. If I were to see it again, I would try for seats in the first few rows of the Stalls. Not elevated, but you can really see the movements better.

It is a little long at 3 hours but well worth every minute.

A+++

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kathyvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy Elliot The Musical also viewed

 

Been to Billy Elliot The Musical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing