We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Greenwich Union

Greenwich Union
Ranked #1,101 of 22,374 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Greenwich
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Take the walk from the Cutty Sark to the Union, it is worth it. Staff was happy to see us and very helpful with explaining the various beers, ales and food on the menu. Fish n chips were done right. As afternoon was warm for March, we enjoyed an extra round on the garden at the rear of the pub.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diverge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    97
    19
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“The real ale handpumps have been ripped out”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

The 3 real ale handpumps have been removed since my last visit. Leaves the only choice of draught beers now as overchilled and overgassed keg ones. A significant reduction in choice. The barman said the decision to remove real ale had come "from on high".

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RealAleVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeantimeManager, Manager at Greenwich Union, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Sir

The Meantime vision has always been to deliver fantastic quality European style beer to the UK. As a part of this we have just recently upgraded our beer cellar in order to further improve our beer. Upgrades include new dispense gear, improved cooling and a top of the range beer line cleaning system.

In order to deliver the best keg beer possible the cellar temperature has been lowered from 13 degrees to 4 degrees. Unfortunately this means it is no longer possible to accommodate cask ale which needs a higher temperature.

It was a hard decision to make and was not taken lightly, but in the end, in order to deliver the beers Meantime produce in top condition we had to sacrifice the cask ales.

We do however stock several good cask style ales in bottle, one should have been recommended to you.

I hope you will visit us again and that you will enjoy sampling some of our over 200 different bottled beers. There is a world of choice, just not cask ale.

Kind regards

Daniel Persson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Beer and Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We debated 3.5 or 4, the difference being the presentation of the food wasn't that well done. That being said, the different beers were excellent, and the quality of the food was great. We had the lamb burger and fish and chips, and possibly the best F&C so far on the trip. The staff was friendly, and we enjoyed it very much.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Super staff and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Thisvwas our first visit, found it through good pub guide, and well worth it. First thing I also want is good pleasant staff and you get this here, all the young staff are cheerful and knowledgable. Food at lunch very good, burger very good value and fish is is excellent. Try the paddle of beer(four different tastes in third pint glasses) it is gimmicky but very enjoyable, well worth the short walk from Greenwich park.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 101MartinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Really good drinks and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I've been here a number of times and each time has been so fun!

The bar staff are extremely knowledgeable about the beers, and as well as the draft selection (Yakima Red and the Stout being my favourite), they have many choices of bottled beers available.

Apart from the sausage rolls (delicious), I haven't tried the food, so this is purely a 'bar' review from me. For drinks alone in Greenwich, if you like your beers, you should include this on your agenda.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellernick121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwich Union also viewed

 

Been to Greenwich Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing