We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service is what counts.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizza Express

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pizza Express
Ranked #12,884 of 22,199 Restaurants in London
Price range: $38 - $43
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service is what counts.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

I visited this place at the start of the month with 4 others. I have been to P.E. a few times in Guildford and never had cause to complain. The service we got here though was second to none. Ok, it wasn't that busy for a Saturday evening but we were there at around 7pm and there were no issues throughout our stay. We chopped and changed around on the food orders with no hassle.
The food was very nice too.
Recommended if you want a safe bet on service and food quality.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grizzly42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

what a lovely place,had a great night.staff great.made a lovely night out .would love to go again food was lovely not far from hotel lovely walk down to restaurant.would like to say big thankyou to staff very nice nothing was to much trouble,very helpful.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lorraine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“"The same standard as the other chains, which is to say, pretty high."”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Any of the reviewers below me who gave it 1/5 or 2/5 either went when the restaurant was having a really bad day or they woke up on the wet side of the bed.

This is my preferred chain (usually a good meeting place for friends), and it has yet to disappoint. Some of the starters are lacking somewhat (the garlic bread needs a bit extra to justify the asking price), but the pizzas are always of a high quality (nice, crispy bases, never too doughy), my usual being the classic sloppy giseppe (sp?).

The desserts are always great too, and make for a sumptuous end to the meal. The service is generally good, with enthusiastic waiters greeting our party most of the time. The decor, as it is with every other chain, very nice (usually with a touch of the artistic to it).

I've been going to Pizza Express restaurants for over 10 years and have only ever had a few minor problems in that time. It may seem slightly overpriced in some cases, but with the number of offers that they so frequently advertise you really don't have any right to slag off the prices too much. As I say, I've been going for years and I don't have any intention of stopping. For a great, quick, affordable dinner before events/trips to the cinema, there aren't many places better.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
92 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“I agree with one of the 6 reviewers.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Must be mad to like this stuff. Somebody is making a load of cash.Overpriced rubbish. A bit of dough and some half cooked rubbish on top for 8 GBP each. Rubbish! Cold and tasteless after a few minutes. The box ( hype) is worth more than the contents, so often the case these days.
Pizza unless you make it yourself is for lazy people and children who do not know how to eat. You pay for dough and the stuff on top rarely comes up to expectations.I agree entirely with the other reviewer.
Another case of the brand name being bought. and the general public being hoodwinked and conned.
Are we not all stupid like NIKE and Carluccio's. I have yet to hear anyone like a meal in Carluucio's. He may have been good but that will have been 20 years ago ( see my reviews.).
Do not buy this pizza. unless you do not care about money . And enough of you don't so for those who do not care about money go ahead but you may as well burn it.
The toppings are pathetic!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Nice layout for a pizza express, and friendly staff... however if you want something a little more romantic I recommend Valentina down the road...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Torjus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing