We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sam's Brasserie & Bar - CLOSED

Sam's Brasserie & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $75 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chiswick
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Nice Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had egg royale which had a perfect spicy tangy hollandaise sauce and beautiful orange yolk. The only thing was the coldness of the salmon. We then tried the stack of pancakes with fruits. This was a little weird because the pancakes are unsweetened wholewheat and thereford quite bitter. All in all a great place to wait for the chiswick high st shops to open on a Sunday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chantal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    91
    33
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious food and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I had lunch at Sam's with my parents in late December. Not having been for well over a year, I was interested to see that they have pared down the menu substantially. But the food remains outstanding, with the partridge especially good. The staff were their usual friendly and efficient selves. Sam's is well worth seeking out if you're in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
124 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Successful family celebration!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

My first visit to Sam's was for a family celebration with teenage children. In contrast to some other reviews, we had prompt service and really enjoyed our evening. When I booked I was told that there was a large group arriving at 7.30 so we arrived a little earlier and everything went smoothly. The staff were most attentive and friendly, going to great lengths to answer an question about the ingredients of one of the ice creams for example.
Portions were generous and I liked being able to order some quite attractive wines in 500ml caraffes. Cooking was to a high standard and frankly, a lot better than I expected. Well done; we will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard_SW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing family celebration”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

My stepson booked five of us into this restaurant as a family treat and Christmas celebration. We took a 7pm booking but our drink order was not taken until 7:45pm and the food a good 15 minutes later.

The food was very tasty but on the main course some were served a huge portion and a couple had children size meals. The food arrived fairly promptly once ordered, but the drinks took a long time.

At 8:45pm we were told we had to move off the table as there was a 9pm booking and could we move to the bar area and have our pudding and coffee there.

Without grumbling we did move but we were put next to the outside door and in a position not particularly good, and had to wait a further 30 minutes for our pudding order to be taken despite asking twice. The order was taken and then a good 10 minutes later we were told they had run out of mince pies which three of us had ordered. Those three people decided not to have a pudding. The coffees turned up but not the other two puddings!

When we complained the waitress brought a plate if complimentary little petit fours but we asked her for the bill and left.

It could have been good, but the service was not up to much, too slow, not enough staff and if the restaurant policy is to only allocate each sitting a 2 hour slot then they should make sure orders are speedily dealt with.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank windsor10yellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to eat and relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We've booked a table in Sam's Brasserie & Bar for my partner Mum's round Birthday lunch and we were very happy with the place, food and staff. We had 1.5 year old baby with us and the way staff were dealing with her was great. Everybody was friendly, food was great and we had great time. Most of all Mum was enjoying herself.
I will be going back there more than one time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karolina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Brasserie & Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing