We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy location - mediocre food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Strada - Brunswick - CLOSED

Strada - Brunswick
Price range: $46 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Bloomsbury
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Handy location - mediocre food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

A friend and I ate here early evening prior to going to the Renoir Cinema - 1 minute away, so very convenient.
The decor was very pleasant and the wine list was good. We shared some Napoletana pizza bread which was more than enough for two. We ordered linguine pescatora and tagliolini nero granchio (pasta with cuttlefish ink and crab). The tagliolini dish was lacking in taste - extremely bland, and not helped by overcooked pasta. The crab added nothing taste-wise - you wouldn't have known it was a sea food dish. I added oil and seasoning and ate most of it. Maybe I should have lowered my expectations, this being a chain, but any Italian restaurant really should be able to turn out decent pasta.
The staff were friendly and I gave them feedback on the tagliolini. Service was average speed I'd say.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ContessaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    39
    12
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Surprised!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife and I had occassion to vist this restuarant in Brunswick centre during our stay in London. We were located near Russell Sq so the Strada was close. Let me tell you we were pleasantly surprised. Normally, not always, but more often than not chains of this nature are not overally good. This chain is quite different. It was very good. Staff was at your beck and call. You waited for nothing. The ambiance was nice. Interior was good, not cafeteria style, like a proper restuarant. The food was excellant. Portions were large. Dessert was also very good. Theres quite a variety for both mains and desserts. The wine menu is fairly large, as is the beer selection. We had a appetizer, 2 mains, 2 desserts, 2 drinks each(wine & beer) and our total for the meal was under 50 GBP. We felt that a deal. If we ever find ourselves back in London we certainly will stop in for supper.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bergerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
Level Contributor
102 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Have been before and it was good, however this time it was disappointing. Service was not good - it took ages to get the menus, food and drinks were forgotten and food took a long time to come. Starters were OK but pasta main courses were cold as was a risotto - it was so cold it was congealed onto the bowl and the rice was very al dente, oh and the lemon was missing from the beans with lemon and crumbs. We were catching a train so did not have time to send anything back. Pizza was hot, fresh and very big but not good enough to make us go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrs_m_Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A busy location but pleasant staff and tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

I have enjoyed many meals in this restaurant and never been disappointed. It is often busy but the service is very good without feeling rushed, and the food of a good quality. It may be very slightly more expensive than some of the other chains, but it is well worth it

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Quality food! Very busy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I visited here at short notice and although they were very busy the staff were friendly and accommodating. I tried the linguine alla pescatore , which I was told was one of the most popular dishes. It was the best seafood dish I have tried at a Italian chain, Strada seemed to be more generous with their seafood and the flavours tasted fresh. Filtered water is complimentary at Strada which is another reason I rate this place.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank vtailor81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strada - Brunswick also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing