We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best high street restaurant”
Review of Strada - St Pauls - CLOSED

Strada - St Pauls
Price range: $46 - $51
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: City of London
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best high street restaurant”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Having been to a number of other 'Italian' high street restaurants, Strada is by far the best we have visited. We were quickly seated and the ambience was perfect and cosy, with lovely low lighting, and a welcoming smell of food. We were pleased to see that there was very good quality cutlery and glassware (proper high-ball tumblers for soft drinks), and unusually, a luxurious linen-like paper serviette. Our order was taken quickly and served in no time at all, avoiding the sometimes awkward wait between drinks and the first course. We ordered a very fresh and appetising starter, and the quality of the main course was excellent and set Strada apart from other restaurants, with high standards of presentation and thoughtful touches. Throughout our meal, the service was attentive but discrete and waiting staff were always available. A useful addition to the restaurant would have been a coat stand, or cloak room area, as there wasn't a provision for coats and bags other than the window sill. Overall, a very satisfying experience, far more impressive than other people's offerings at a not too dissimilar price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    169
    64
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“the found so bland i forgot what we had !”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is chain restaurant that is situated at the very foot of the mighty St Pauls Cathedral in London. The ground rent alone for this site must be stratospheric so this is clearly a loss leader for the company. Saying that we simply didn’t expect too much when we found ourselves in the venue over the weekend. Which was very good because we sure as hell got that ! Basically if you want mediocre food that is served by lacklustre staff who are adept at making you feel that you are on a treadmill and they are miffed by your presence then please come here. We were seated on a table that wouldn’t fit a sparrow - which is always an issue for me as iam a big man (not fat - just big ok!). So when the two waters (we only asked for one) and a spare glass and a bottle coke arrived I started to get anxious. I mean I didn’t want to knock any thing over - did i? The shared tine of bread arrived and as we so hungry we devoured it. But we were no more past the first piece each when the mains arrived and was served by the monosyllabic waiter who didn’t understand our pleadings that we were still on our starters but wanted to force the plates on the scarce space on the tables (almost as if he simply wanted to get rid of us!). After we got through to him he grunted and dragged himself and our plates back to the salamander grill in the kitchen so they could dry out as we finished off the starters we had paid good money for ! No body cleared our plates for ages so we left with a empty plates - this is not an issue normally but for the fact that the tables were just so small - I started to put the glass ware on the floor - as a kind of single to the passing waiting staff. Still nothing. Then a surly member of the waiting staff came to give us our crucified mains. Risotto and something else (I cant remember as it was so bland!). a 50£ bill and the a new member of staff then appeared and thrust a feedback card into our hands with an eager hope. Some hope ! My recommendation is to go to the legendary Paternoster Chop House (which is just over the road in Paternoster Square or even Hush which is just round the corner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carl427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good despite being wildly busy”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We came to London on a busy weekend to see the Lord Mayor's Show and popped in here for a late lunch. They found us a table despite being very busy. View of St Paul's was lovely. Service was excellent. Food was very nice. Atmosphere very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oxfordhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Better than average”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate here on a Saturday evening and enjoyed our pizzas very much. For a nice change I got basil on my margaretta. Worth a try - better than your average chain.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fulham290349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

First time at a Strada restaurant in London.
Arrived at 7:30 and despite being very busy we were shown to a table straight away.
We were apart of four and whilst our orders were taken quickly the wait for starters and then mains was a little long, it was nearly 10:15 before we left, although this probably wasn't helped by the restaurant being busy.
The food was very good being tasty and well presented, with reasonable prices.
The only item that any real fault was found with was a Limoncello dessert that had a distinct lack of Limoncello.
The one real downside to our experience was the noise being generated by fellow customers. The main reason really stems form establishments of this sort trying to cram the floor space with as many tables as can be squeezed in therefore neighbouring tables are too close.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evargsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strada - St Pauls also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing