We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor hygiene poor service cold food” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Square - City Minories

Thai Square - City Minories
Ranked #2,284 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City of London
Description: Situated in the heart of the City, this is the perfect place for a quick working lunch or for a relaxing bite after a long hard day in the office.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Poor hygiene poor service cold food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have been here normal and its average but easy going until last night. Service was ok, not very caring especially as the restaurant was very quiet. After the starters, mixed platter which was average, the waitress came up with the hot plates held in a serviette, however she dropped the one to the floor that she intended to wipe the plate with, and she picked it up and wiped the plate, yes wiped the plate with a cloth that fell on the floor and then she put the plates in front of us. I asked her for clean plates because of what happened but no apologies! Then the main course turned up, cold rice, cold noodles, warmish chicken and cold beef.... I asked for new food, which they returned with, which noodles hot, everything else cold. When I spoke to the manager, she told me that this was expected as dishes are half cooked and not cooked from fresh unless I have something fried!!! So either I need to accept this or she can cook something else. I sam surprised they half cook a small piece of chicken and beef! When i said about the plates also, there was no apologies... so we decided to leave and got told by the manager that it was only fair I paid £15 for the starters as we ate them! Oh dear, guess what i wont be going back...... it is a shame as the restaurant is nice layout and easy going, but I cant pay decent prices for cold food and bad hygiene.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank keegan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    97
    53
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“OK thai, quite expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I've been to other Thai Square restaurants and this is of similar quality to its sister restaurants (the best used to be on pelham street but shut down about a year ago)

I ordered chicken satay as a starter, the skewers were cold so i sent them back and the waitress had no problem accepting this. when it did arrive hot, it was quite disappointing. the satay sauce tasted quite watery and not peanuty enough. i tried my friend's prawn tempura which was of a much higher quality

main-wise, i shared a thai green curry and pad thai with my friend. the pad thai was sickeningly sweet and lacked fried egg. It definitely didn't taste authentic. The thai green curry was fine but i've had better (e.g. at patara)

overall, food was edible but not worth the money (£30 pp with wine).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Izzysaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pad Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

OK its not the resturant we wanted to go into, but it was there, it was busy (a good sign) and had lots of positive looking stickers on the door. (ok may be not a great sign).

I have not done Thai before so was looking forward to trying this, and my friends loved a good thai, it just turns out that this one wasnt good.

The service was fine, but after the mixed starter, the mains were "drab" for want of a better phrase. A green curry that was OK but nothing stunning, then two meat dishes that were very very bland indeed, and the words drab and bland are not ones that I think a thai should have associated with it

To top it all it was rather expensive as well.

So not a great evening out there

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mgrt09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Too expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I thought this restaurant very expensive and the portion size tiny. I found the service very average.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good and relaxed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Visited this place both for lunch and dinner a number of times and I never get disappointed. Food is good and quickly prepared. Service is very good and friendly. Surroundings are a bit so so but not bad for a restaurant of that size. Seating is good and relaxed. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Square - City Minories also viewed

 

Been to Thai Square - City Minories? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing