We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bland uneventful thai”

Thai Square - South Kensington
Ranked #8,169 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Price range: $19 - $38
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: South Kensington
Description: A small, intimate Thai restaurant located just opposite South Kensington underground station serving all your favourite Thai dishes in a modern, warm atmosphere.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
216 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“bland uneventful thai”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

nice enough decor, service and food but bland (no chili or limes or any extra condiments-too sweet and bland in general).

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank XenaSfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    99
    83
    59
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olst, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for lunch”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Coming out of the V & A museum, we where sort of blowing into this place by the really bad weather at the time. We had a great lunch here, excellent food and service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tasty food but poor service”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Decided to eat here prior to going to the royal Albert Hall. Pleasently supprised by the selection on the menu. Having selected a chicken and coconut dish accompanied by coconut rice i was not disappointed. The chicken was so tender it melted in the mouth and was infused with a delicate blend of spices. Delicious.
The down side however was the service. As a party of 4 we were surprised to only receive 3 meals and had to chase the waitress for the 4th meal. Given the time we waited for it it became clear the chef had overlooked it completely.
They then had the audacity to add a gratuity to the bill which we insisted they remove prior to paying.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good for people watching, but not the best food.”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a very busy restaurant in the heart of South Kensington. It's a great location but the food is only average. Much of it tasted like it had been prepared earlier and then reheated. One of our orders had to be sent back as it was still cold. But the staff are efficient and it's a great lace to eat and watch the world go by.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cannot comment on the food, only poor service”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Would probably have given this a higher rating except that, although I and a friend had not booked (admittedly a mistake on a Friday night in this area), I had to find someone to ask about a table. Then we were allocated a small table upstairs - right next to a washing up bowl full of vegetable peelings. Oddly enough, this was not my idea of a good eating location, so we promptly left.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisbatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Square - South Kensington also viewed

 

Been to Thai Square - South Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing