We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service”
Review of The Tommyfield

The Tommyfield
Ranked #4,679 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Wonderful sustainable English fish, our famous steaks and old school pie and mash form the heart of our menu. Our chicken and pork is all free-range and we work with some of the best small producers the British Isles has to offer. June 2014 saw the launch of six beautiful bedrooms on our top two floors. Each with their own unique character and charm, they feature either a super king or king-size bed, Egyptian cotton linen, an HD Freeview television, free wireless internet, Nespresso machine, black-out curtains or blinds, mini-fridge and safe as standard. Our private Master Room, with its own bar, is perfect for private parties and events, and hosts one of London's best stand-up comedy gigs every other Thursday.
Groton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
425 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Good service”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Good service, I had lunch of Pumpkin Gnocchi good sized portion, tasted good, if anything a bit too much cream (but better that than too little). Pleasant surroundings, toilets nice and clean (a big deal!)

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    73
    29
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Tommyfield was one of few restaurants we were able to make a reservation for on Open Table on New Year's Eve (we made the reservation the day before). Our reservation was for 5:30, and we were the only ones in the restaurant the whole time. All the other tables were reserved for later when people would be watching the New Year's festivities and celebrating. The steak and burgers were pretty good. Service was good as well.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ninglot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice location, service & food left a sting on the wallet”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Went here for Christmas roast with some friends of ours... Venue was great, comes across as a lovely little gastro style pub.

So we were seated fairly quickly and then. A aged to place our orders which were served promptly ... It went downhill from here.

While the portion size was great on the main course the food was pretty bland and not that full of flavour. The crackling on the belly pork had very little crackle. The potatoes lack any substance and flavour while the spring greens tasted as though they were from the freezer 6 months ago.

All this for £13.00

We then waited nearly 30 minutes before someone came over to ask if we wanted dessert... Ordered a chocolate brownie with ice cream and chocolate sauce.... A favourite of mine I was really disappointed. Very dry, had to ask for chocolate sauce which turned out to be the cheap out the bottle freeze on ice cream type...

All this for £5.00

No sign of a waiter asking about tea or coffee ... Pity I coulda done withe some to wet my dried out brownie throat.

It was not all bad, the Rioja was good and only came in at £19.99 a bottle

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobalOrbitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lovely, relaxed Sunday lunch.”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We live in the area so we come here often. It was consistently good although this year, the pub has become a bit hit and miss. We came here for lunch on a Sunday and we had a lovely time.

The service is often good, with the waiters looking after us well. The food was delicious although some of the roasted vegetables that one of our friend had looked a little over done. The atmosphere is always laid back and when the bar fills up, it feels likely with a nice mix of people. It is good value for money too so a good time all round.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I have lived in Kennington for two years and The Tommyfield has always served good food, even before when it was under another name. After eating the roast dinner on Sunday (a dish I usually loved in there-mind you it had probably been 8 months since I had one last there) I was very disappointed. Watery gravy, tough meat, (ordered pork belly!) rubbery crackling, and mash that had seen better days. It looked lika a disaster on a plate, and the saying is true. You do eat with your eyes. The staff were lovely and took the item off the bill, however the rest of my family's food was not up to scratch. The rabbit pie was very poor compared to previous occassions and the yorkshire pudding tasted like polystyrene. This is very disappointing as I usually love to take friends to The Tommyfield and boast how good the food is. I do hope they get another chef...

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcia1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tommyfield also viewed

 

Been to The Tommyfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing