We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pies but could do better on the chips”

The Windmill Mayfair
Ranked #895 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: Pies are our passion, our Steak & Kidney pie has even recently won a shiny, new award from the very prestigious, Great British Pie Awards (March 2017). Our famously, British menu​ boasts a variety of seasonally suited pies. Freshly home-made each morning, our suet pastry and potato topped pies are packed full of only the best, locally sourced ingredients. All of which can be washed down with up to 8 cask ales, a wide selection of craft beers or a glass of wine or two. Our ‘Secret Garden’ is ideally situated on our hidden roof terrace offering our guests an idyllic spot to dine alfresco, soak up the sunshine and relax. Along with our dedicated pie rooms and cosy bar, The Windmill pub is the perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle of the West End.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good pies but could do better on the chips”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Want a good pie? And by that we're not talking about a pot pie with a puff pastry lid, but one entirely encased in pastry. Well this is a good place to go. There's some excellent looking pies here, which are very tasty.

You buy your pie, then your sides separately so the bill can rack up a bit, although given the location this is not that surprising. There was a wide range of sides on my visit, all which looked and tasted good. However the chips seemed to let the place down - if they were chips made in the pub itself then they didn't seem like it, appearing to be rather bog standard frozen chips. You can avoid this by having a good dose of mash instead, but I did feel that the quality of the chips let down the overall experience.

The Windmill has an excellent range of beers, in good condition. As a Youngs pub it featured several Youngs ales, plus other beers from the Wells and Youngs range. And nicely there were also several other brews from smaller producers in the local area. And if you're in the upstairs pie room, the staff are happy to bring them up - something that doesn't always happen in upstairs rooms of pubs.

Well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewBowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl S, General Manager at The Windmill Mayfair, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thanks for your review Andrew which was overwhelmingly positive. Our chips are definitely home made. We use up to 5 x 25 kg bags of potatoes a day. The chip quality can be poor at certain times of year depending on the availability of the right type of potato. However, at the moment they are very good. Not sure what happened on your visit but I've spoken to the chef and asked him to keep a close eye on consistency.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    135
    13
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Please don't let the standard drop”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I've been here several times now and on almost every occasion have been completely satisfied, except today. Whilst still good, the gravy was very watery, not sure what happened there. Also disappointed in the service as the waitress wouldn't fetch me another drink, saying I had to order at the bar. A bit tricky as I was alone and didn't want to leave the table unattended. On previous visits the waiter offered to get me another drink. Please don't let the standard drop, it would be a shame.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tothebatpoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl S, General Manager at The Windmill Mayfair, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Tothebatpoles. Thanks for your review. Please don't worry about us letting standards drop, we've been at the Windmill for 18 years and we are obsessive about standards. Had a chat with the chef about the gravy, its made to a tried and tested recipe, don't know what happened on your visit but I am paying close attention. We don't operate with table service on Saturdays but we are making some changes in January and will review this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Pies, same pies as Guinea but better value”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Great pies.

The Windmill's sister pub is the Guinea Grill and the pies are the same in both places but about 1/3 cheaper in the Windmill.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl S, General Manager at The Windmill Mayfair, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thanks Michael, the pies in the bar at the Guinea are the same price as at the Windmill. To be fair the service in the restaurant at the Guinea is exceptional and so we have to charge bit more to cover the extra staff cost. One other point, the Guinea pies are bigger with pastry only on the top of the pie where as at the Windmill they are fully encased with pastry. The recipe for the filling is the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really good pies and beers”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Good choice of beers. Really good pies and not really pricey at all
It is our usual choice when we are at the centre area
Nice service as well

Helpful?
Thank qasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,179 reviews
881 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 479 helpful votes
“Excellent pies, good beer”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a Youngs pub, a brewery that was based in Wandsworth before they were taken over by Charles Wells but they have kept their basic look and the excellent beers. A small place just off Regent street, they specialise in pies and are one of the better examples of a good British pub in the West end. It's a bit more difficult to get a seat if you just want a beer rather than eat and they should get rid of the big screen TV which is on interminably in the background with nobody watching it.

Helpful?
Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Windmill Mayfair also viewed

 

Been to The Windmill Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing